HECTOR LARIVÉE INC

FOUR GENERATIONS OF FRESH AND LOCAL FRUITS AND VEGETABLES!

by / Wednesday, 04 April 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAME

Jessica Larivée

 

COMPANY

Hector Larivée inc.

 

PRODUCTS

Distributor of more than 800 varieties of fruits and vegetables from local producers.

 

BACKGROUND

Hector Larivée

When he opened his small fruit and vegetable stand at Marché Bonsecours in 1940, Hector Larivée might not have known that he had laid the foundations for a company that would soon turn into a major produce distributor, recognized throughout Quebec and Ontario.

The founder’s vision has ensured the steady growth of his company’s business. Hector Larivée soon began specializing in the market for food services (which includes restaurants, restaurant chains, cafeterias, hotels and institutions), where he now ranks first.

From Old Montreal, the company eventually moved to Bercy Street in the borough of Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, where its facilities are currently located. The fourth generation of the Larivée family is preparing to take the reins of the company, which stands out for its desire to support local producers and its proximity to the great chefs of Quebec’s restaurant industry.

 

TRAINING

In 1940, people often learned their trade on the job, but that’s no longer the case today (not entirely, anyway!). Hector Larivée, which builds on innovation, today has more than 300 employees, who together want to help the company become Canada’s largest independent distributor of fruits and vegetables in the food service industry. To achieve this, they implemented a warehouse management system (WMS) a few years ago, making Hector Larivée the first produce specialist that offers customers full traceability of its products. The team is made up of talented and passionate people.

 

INITIAL SPARK

The first Larivée had the ambition of offering his customers the freshest products, as quickly as possible, while encouraging local producers. Today, in the era of sustainable development, this remains the mission of his successors, who have taken over the helm of the company with great pride and enthusiasm.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

The biggest challenge in our industry is the quality of our services,” says Jessica Larivée, representative of major accounts, who comes from the fourth generation of the Larivée family. “In November 2017, our company became the only produce distributor and specialist in Canada to hold SQF certification, which guarantees the highest standards of hygiene, food safety and quality in the food industry. For us, this certification confirms the importance of our rigour and our commitment to our customers,” she adds.

 

NICE SURPRISES

Being close to local chefs, with whom they often act as advisors on fruits and vegetables, depending on availability and season. “Our discussions with the chefs are so inspiring and rewarding!” says Jessica Larivée.

 

INSPIRATIONS

Camion Hector Larivée

Always better, always more. This sums up the goal pursued by Hector Larivée, which, working with Michel Lachaume, also helped create Les Artisans des Saveurs, a research and development farm whose mission is to break new ground in biodiversity and create new varieties of fruits and vegetables.

Proximity to local producers, especially the smallest market gardens, is of crucial importance to the company. Hector Larivée is proud to have established a link between “the farm and the consumer’s plate” since 1940.

This closeness also exists with chefs, and the team at Hector Larivée plays a crucial role in bringing together local producers and chefs.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Become Canada’s largest independent distributor of fruit and vegetables in the food service industry, and continue to work with the greatest chefs, so that Quebecers can enjoy the best fruits and vegetables.

 

HIGHLIGHT

Receiving SQF certification in November 2017.

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Jessica Larivée loves Asian food, with a preference for sushi. Which Hector Larivée probably didn’t know much about, in 1940!

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 10 YEARS !

Les Enfants Terribles Brasserie collaborates with Hector Larivée inc. since the opening year of the first restaurant on Bernard Avenue in Outremont, in 2008.

Jardin des Saveurs“Jardin des Saveurs” in Sainte-Marie-Madeleine, Qc.

Website: hectorlarivee.com

Facebook: facebook.com/hectorlariveeinc

Instagram: instagram.com/hectorlarivee

All photos © Hector Larivée inc.

TOP

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS DE FRUITS ET LÉGUMES FRAIS ET LOCAUX !

HECTOR LARIVÉE INC

par / Mercredi, 04 Avril 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOM

Jessica Larivée

 

ENTREPRISE

Hector Larivée inc.

 

PRODUIT

Distributeur de plus de 800 variétés de fruits et légumes de producteurs locaux.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

Hector Larivée

Hector Larivée ne se doutait peut-être pas, en ouvrant son modeste kiosque de fruits et légumes au Marché Bonsecours en 1940, qu’il avait posé les bases d’un commerce qui allait se transformer en une remarquable entreprise de distribution de fruits et légumes, reconnue partout au Québec et en Ontario.

La vision du fondateur a fait en sorte d’assurer la croissance soutenue des activités de sa compagnie. Hector Larivée s’est en effet très vite spécialisé dans le marché du service alimentaire (qui comprend les restaurants et les chaînes de restaurants, les cafétérias, les hôtels et les institutions), où il occupe aujourd’hui le premier rang.

Du Vieux-Montréal, la compagnie a éventuellement déménagé dans le quartier Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, sur la rue Bercy, où se trouvent actuellement ses installations. La quatrième génération de la famille Larivée s’apprête à prendre les rênes de l’entreprise qui se démarque par son souci d’encourager les producteurs locaux et sa proximité avec les grands chefs de la restauration québécoise.

 

FORMATION

Si en 1940 on apprenait souvent son métier « sur le tas », ce n’est plus le cas aujourd’hui (plus entièrement, en tous cas !). Hector Larivée, qui mise sur l’innovation, compte plus de 300 employés qui, tous ensemble, veulent contribuer à ce que l’entreprise devienne le plus grand distributeur indépendant de fruits et légumes en service alimentaire au Canada. À preuve, l’installation, il y a quelques années, d’un système de gestion des inventaires (WMS), faisant d’Hector Larivée le premier spécialiste des fruits et légumes pouvant assurer une traçabilité complète de ses produits auprès de ses clients. L’équipe est formée de gens de talents et de passion.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Le premier des Larivée avait l’ambition d’offrir à sa clientèle les produits les plus frais, le plus vite possible, tout en encourageant les producteurs locaux. À l’ère du développement durable, c’est toujours la mission que se donnent ses successeurs, qui ont repris le flambeau de l’entreprise avec une grande fierté et beaucoup d’enthousiasme.

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« Le plus grand défi, dans notre secteur, c’est la qualité de nos services », explique Jessica Larivée (de la quatrième génération de la famille Larivée), représentante des comptes majeurs. « En novembre 2017, notre entreprise est devenue le seul distributeur et spécialiste des fruits et légumes au Canada à détenir la certification SQF, gage des meilleures normes d’hygiène, de sécurité alimentaire et de qualité dans l’industrie de l’alimentation. Pour nous, cette certification confirme l’importance de notre rigueur et de notre engagement auprès de notre clientèle », précise-t-elle.

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« Notre proximité avec les chefs d’ici, auprès de qui nous agissons souvent à titre de conseillers en matière de fruits et légumes, selon les disponibilités et les saisons. Les échanges avec les chefs sont tellement inspirants et enrichissants ! », souligne Jessica Larivée.

 

INSPIRATIONS

Camion Hector Larivée

Toujours mieux, toujours plus… Cela résume bien le but poursuivi par Hector Larivée, qui a contribué, en collaboration avec Michel Lachaume, à la création du jardin de recherche et développement Les Artisans des Saveurs, ayant pour mission de faire des avancées en biodiversité et de créer de nouvelles variétés de fruits et de légumes.

La proximité avec les producteurs locaux, notamment avec les plus petits maraîchers, revêt une importance cruciale pour l’entreprise. Hector Larivée se fait une fierté d’établir un lien, depuis 1940, entre « la ferme et l’assiette du consommateur ».

Cette « proximité » existe également avec les chefs, et l’équipe d’Hector Larivée joue un rôle déterminant dans le jumelage entre producteurs et chefs d’ici.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Devenir le plus important distributeur indépendant de fruits et de légumes en service alimentaire au Canada et continuer de travailler en collaboration avec les plus grands chefs pour faire profiter les Québécois des meilleurs fruits et légumes.

 

FAIT MARQUANT

Obtention de la certification SQF en novembre 2017.

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Jessica Larivée adore les mets asiatiques, avec une préférence pour les sushis. Ce qu’Hector ne devait sûrement pas connaître, en 1940 !

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 10 ans ! 2008

La Brasserie Les Enfants Terribles collabore avec Hector Larivée inc. depuis l’ouverture du premier restaurant sur l’avenue Bernard à Outremont, en 2008.

Jardin des Saveurs

Site Web : hectorlarivee.com

Facebook : facebook.com/hectorlariveeinc

Instagram : instagram.com/hectorlarivee

 
Crédits photos © Hector Larivée inc.

HAUT