MAISON SIVO

QUÉBEC’S FIRST WHISKEY

by / Monday, 05 February 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAME

Janos Sivo

 

COMPANY

Maison Sivo, micro-distillery

 

PRODUCT

Essence du Single Malt, Essence du Rye, Rebel Le Moonshine du Rye, Shámán Herb Liqueur, brandies and liqueurs.

 

BACKGROUND

A native of Hungary, Janos Sivo has lived in Quebec for more than three decades. After a brilliant career in telecommunications, he wanted a change of course, which is no coincidence. Since the early 20th century, his family in Hungary had been producing artisanal brandy, a “clandestine” pursuit that was very common at the time in Eastern Europe.

In 2011, he acquired a farm in Hemmingford, in Quebec’s Montérégie region, where he would grow eco-friendly blackcurrants, blueberries and raspberries, and then distill the harvest into liqueurs.

Since then, his project has diversified considerably.

 

Zsuzsa et Janos Sivo

Daughter and father, Zsuzsa and Janos Sivo

 

TRAINING

Even though he had been familiar with the craft since childhood, Janos had a lot to learn about distilling. On this journey, he had the fortune of meeting Frank Deiter, founder of Okanagan Spirits Distillery, who soon became a great friend and mentor. Deiter’s advice was instrumental, in terms of distilling technique and marketing savvy. Janos is now very active in the industry, continually expanding his list of contacts in order to gain new knowledge through discussions or workshops.

 

INITIAL SPARK

Although it was his friend Frank Deiter, founder of Okanagan Spirits, who convinced him that Maison Sivo had all it takes to create Quebec’s first whiskey, it was mainly the memories of artisanal brandy production during his childhood in Hungary that are at the origin of this project. Janos returns every year to his native land.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

The biggest challenge when you start out in this industry is understanding how the enormous machine of the federal and provincial governments works for obtaining permits and getting the SAQ to accept your product,” says Janos, who nonetheless had experience with very large companies and organizations. That being said, he believes that the SAQ’s monopoly still has its advantages, especially vis-à-vis quality control of products.

Another challenge is to turn a profit. You need money to build this kind of business, and you must be patient to achieve profitability.

 

NICE SURPRISES

My nicest surprise was discovering the passion and curiosity that drives the people who work in this industry. I’m just as interested in people as in products, and this field is teeming with specialists of all kinds, such as distillers, mixologists, judges, farmers and teachers, all of whom are committed to excellence.

 

INSPIRATIONS

My friend Frank Deiter is undoubtedly a great inspiration to me, but other encounters have also left their mark, especially my discussions with certain members of the Quebec Whiskey Club, who opened up a whole new world to me: the world of tasting!

 

ASPIRATIONS

For a long time, Mr. Sivo aspired to make Quebec’s first whiskey. Mission accomplished! “Essence du Single Malt” recently changed its name, as it now meets Canadian requirements to be called “whiskey,” meaning that it has aged more than three years in barrels, the minimum for this designation. “Le Single Malt” and “Le Rye” are available at SAQ stores.

Janos is now getting into brandy distilling, hoping to win over Quebecers with a product that is better known in Europe.

 

HIGHLIGHTS

Seeing our products on the shelves at the SAQ is a big deal!” the master distiller tells us. “It’s a long journey from the time when you decide you’re going to create a product and when you can finally sell it.

 

FAVOURITE DISH

The term “goulash” comes from the Hungarian word “gulyás,” which used to refer to cattle herders. The dish is usually made with beef, vegetables and small pasta. However, Janos makes a vegetarian, mushroom-based goulash with paprika and sour cream. It’s a pure delight for people lucky enough to be invited to his farm.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 2016

Essence du Single Malt

Website: maisonsivo.ca

Facebook: facebook.com/maisonsivo

Instagram: instagram.com/maison_sivo

TOP

MAISON SIVO

LE PREMIER WHISKY QUÉBÉCOIS

par / Lundi, 05 Février 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOM

Janos Sivo

 

ENTREPRISE

Maison Sivo, micro-distillerie

 

PRODUIT

L’Essence du Single Malt, L’Essence du Rye, Rebel Le Moonshine du Rye, Liqueur d’herbes Shámán, eaux-de-vie (brandies) et liqueurs.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

D’origine hongroise, Janos Sivo vit au Québec depuis plus de 30 ans. Après une brillante carrière dans les télécommunications ici, il a eu envie d’un changement de cap, qui n’est pas le fruit du hasard : en Hongrie, sa famille s’adonnait déjà — depuis le début du 20e siècle — à la fabrication artisanale d’eau-de-vie. Une activité « clandestine » très courante en Europe de l’Est, à l’époque.

En 2011, il fait l’acquisition d’une ferme pour la production écologique de cassis, bleuets et framboises à Hemmingford, en Montérégie, dans le but de procéder à la distillation de ces petits fruits, pour en faire des liqueurs.

Depuis, ses projets se sont nettement diversifiés.

 

Zsuzsa et Janos Sivo

Fille et père, Zsuzsa et Janos Sivo

FORMATION

Malgré qu’il soit en quelque sorte « tombé dedans » quand il était petit, Janos Sivo avait beaucoup à apprendre sur la distillation. Durant son parcours, il a la chance de croiser Frank Deiter, fondateur de la société Okanagan Spirits Distillery, qui devient vite un grand ami et mentor. Ses conseils ont été précieux, tant sur le plan de la distillation que de la commercialisation. Janos Sivo est maintenant très actif au sein de cette industrie, multipliant les contacts aux fins d’acquérir sans cesse de nouvelles connaissances au moyen d’échanges ou d’ateliers.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Si c’est son ami Frank Deiter qui le convainc que Maison Sivo a tout ce qu’il faut pour créer le premier whisky québécois, ce sont surtout les souvenirs de la fabrication artisanale d’eau-de-vie durant son enfance en Hongrie qui sont à l’origine de ce projet. Janos Sivo retourne chaque année dans son pays natal.

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« Le plus grand défi, quand on se lance dans cette industrie, c’est de comprendre comment fonctionne l’imposante machine des administrations fédérale et provinciale, pour obtenir les permis, et d’arriver à faire accepter son produit par la SAQ », précise M. Sivo, qui avait pourtant l’expérience des très grandes entreprises et organisations. Ceci dit, il considère que le monopole de la SAQ a tout de même des avantages, notamment quant au contrôle de la qualité des produits.

Un autre défi consiste selon lui à devenir profitable… Il faut des sous pour bâtir une telle entreprise, et il faut être patient pour atteindre la rentabilité.

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« Ma plus belle surprise a été de découvrir la passion et la curiosité qui animent les gens qui œuvrent au sein de cette industrie. Je m’intéresse autant aux gens qu’aux produits, et ce milieu fourmille de spécialistes en tous genres, distillateurs, mixologues, juges, agriculteurs, professeurs, qui ont tous à cœur d’exceller ».

 

INSPIRATIONS

« Mon ami Frank Deiter est sans aucun doute une grande inspiration pour moi, mais d’autres rencontres m’ont également marqué, notamment mes échanges avec certains membres du Club Québec Whisky , qui m’ont ouvert tout un nouveau monde, celui de la dégustation ! ».

 

ASPIRATIONS

Depuis longtemps, l’aspiration de M. Sivo était de faire le premier whisky du Québec. C’est chose faite ! « L’Essence du Single Malt » a tout récemment changé de nom, car il correspond désormais aux exigences canadiennes pour être désigné comme étant un « whisky » — il a passé plus de trois ans en fût, le minimum pour cette appellation. « Le Single Malt » et « Le Rye » sont offerts dans les succursales de la SAQ.

Janos Sivo se lance maintenant dans la fabrication d’eau-de-vie, espérant séduire les Québécois avec ce produit mieux connu en Europe.

 

FAITS MARQUANTS

« Voir apparaître nos produits sur les tablettes de la SAQ, c’est tout un événement ! », explique le maître-distillateur. « Le chemin est long entre le moment où on décide qu’on va créer un produit et le moment où on peut le vendre ».

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Le mot « goulash » vient du mot hongrois « gulyás » qui désignait autrefois les gardiens de bétail. Le plat est habituellement à base de viande, de légumes et de petites pâtes. Qu’à cela ne tienne, Janos Sivo prépare, quant à lui, un « goulash » végétarien à base de champignons, avec du paprika et de la crème sure. Un pur délice pour ceux qui ont la chance d’être invités à sa ferme.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 2016

Essence du Single Malt

Site Web : maisonsivo.ca

Facebook : facebook.com/maisonsivo

Instagram : instagram.com/maison_sivo

HAUT