O'CITRUS!

Kumquat, buddha's hand, yuzu

CITRUS FRUIT VANGUARD

by / Monday, 08 January 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAME

Vyckie Vaillancourt

 

COMPANY

O’Citrus, a branch of Ferme d’Auteuil, a fruit and vegetable farm.

 

PRODUCT

Exotic citrus fruits: yuzu, sudachi, kumquat, calamondin, Buddha’s hand, kaffir lime.

 

fleurs

Flowers

COMPANY FOUNDED

1823! That’s right, 1823! Vaillancourt father and daughter are the sixth and seventh generations to work their farm, making them one of Quebec’s oldest farming families. Citrus farming happened somewhat by chance for dad Yves a decade ago, for the pleasure of family and friends, and then turned into a business project more recently, driven by Vyckie.

 

TRAINING

As you might imagine, Yves Vaillancourt learned his trade on the land of his ancestors. Vyckie holds a bachelor’s degree in public relations and a master’s in entrepreneurship. O’Citrus is her study project.

 

INITIAL SPARK

Yves, a real gourmet and great cook, bought his first yuzu tree out of curiosity, following the advice of a friend. Ten or so trees of various varieties later, exotic citrus has become a family passion. During her studies in entrepreneurship, Vyckie noted that there is a serious demand for this type of product. After meeting several chefs and other stakeholders in the industry, the woman who had once chosen not to work on the farm decided to quit her job and devote herself to developing the “citrus” branch, and O’Citrus was born.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

First challenge: patience! You have to know that it takes five years before you can harvest fruit from the tree. As Vyckie tells us, “One winter, the heating in the greenhouse broke down for a whole night. The trees lost all their leaves. We thought they were dead, that it was over. A year later, the trees grew back their leaves and fruit. We saw it as a sign.

Second challenge: energy costs. Between the cold snaps and short periods of sunshine in winter, you have to compensate using artificial light and be doubly smart with heating, for sure, but you must also keep the heat inside the greenhouse, to reduce energy losses. Energy becomes as important as tending to the trees. Take note, any do-it-yourselfers/inventors with brilliant ideas!

The other challenge: a lack of expertise in our province in this type of farming. Vyckie had to go to the south of Portugal to visit the gardens of Jean Paul Brigand. As schooling goes, it was still a pleasant experience to learn about pruning the trees, preventing disease, as well as taking proper care of the blossoms and fruits.

 

NICE SURPRISES

The enthusiasm on the part of chefs and restaurant owners, it’s “not only for the fruit itself, but also the idea of growing it here in Quebec. More and more, we care about the origin of products, the ecological footprint, and we want the freshest food,” says Vyckie.

In this sense, brewers and distillers are also interested in O’Citrus, so that they can create entirely local products. To label something a “product of Quebec,” all the ingredients must come from here. In an ideal world and an era of zero waste, the juice would go to chefs and bartenders, and the zest would go to various players in the world of agribusiness… To be continued!

 

INSPIRATIONS

While the first tree was bought out of curiosity, other varieties followed based on recipe books she read or trends on the menus of restaurants visited by this family of food lovers. Today, talking with their local partners and Jean Paul Brigand, who shares the wishes and requests of the star European chefs he works with, helps inspire future acquisitions.

 

yuzu

Yuzu

main de bouddha

Buddha’s hand

ASPIRATIONS

Be the go-to people for citrus fruit, pioneers of an age of innovation. Develop a market niche for rare or new fruits and vegetables, giving new life to varieties that are old or have disappeared altogether. There are rumours of a partnership with Michel Lachaume of Les Artisans des Saveurs. “I want to work with all the different stakeholders in this exciting movement that is local farming. When I’m alone in my greenhouse, I don’t know what people will want, but with many people working together, we can have outstanding success stories.

 

HIGHLIGHTS

What was really remarkable is our production last year!” Following her training in southern Portugal, the attention she gave to the trees and blossoms have been fruitful indeed! 2017 was the first real year for marketing products from O’Citrus.

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Mushroom Risotto

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 2017

kumquat

Kumquat

O’Citrus Website: Soon…
Ferme d’Auteuil Website: www.fermedauteuil.com

O’Citrus Facebook: Soon…
Ferme d’Auteuil Facebook: www.facebook.com/fermevaillancourt

TOP

O'CITRUS !

Kumquat, main de bouddha, yuzu

PIONNIÈRE DES AGRUMES

par / Lundi, 08 Janvier 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOM

Vyckie Vaillancourt

 

ENTREPRISE

O’Citrus, une branche de la Ferme d’Auteuil, ferme maraîchère.

 

PRODUIT

Agrumes exotiques : yuzu, sudachi, kumquat, calamondin, main de bouddha, combava.

 

fleurs

Fleurs

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

1823 ! Oui, oui, 1823 ! Les Vaillancourt père et fille représentent les 6e et 7e générations sur la ferme. L’une des plus vieilles familles d’agriculteurs au Québec  ! La culture des agrumes est arrivée un peu par hasard par papa Yves il y a 10 ans pour le plaisir de la famille et des amis, puis s’est matérialisée en projet d’entreprise plus récemment, à l’instigation de Vyckie.

 

FORMATION

Yves Vaillancourt a appris son métier sur la terre de ses ancêtres, on peut bien l’imaginer ! Vyckie détient un baccalauréat en relations publiques et un diplôme de 2e cycle en entrepreneuriat. O’Citrus est son projet d’études.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Yves, fin gourmet et bon cuisinier, a acheté un premier arbre yuzu un peu par curiosité, suivant le conseil avisé d’un ami. Une dizaine d’arbres de diverses variétés plus tard, les agrumes exotiques sont devenus une passion familiale. Au cours de ses études en entrepreneuriat, Vyckie constate qu’il existe une réelle demande pour ce type de produits. Après avoir rencontré plusieurs chefs et autres intervenants de l’industrie, celle qui ne se destinait pas au métier de la ferme choisit de quitter son emploi pour s’investir entièrement dans le développement de la branche « agrumes » et O’Citrus voit le jour.

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

Premier défi : la patience ! Il faut savoir que ça prend cinq ans avant de récolter les fruits de l’arbre. Vyckie nous raconte : « Un hiver, il y a eu bris de chauffage dans la serre durant toute une nuit. Les arbres ont perdu toutes leurs feuilles. On pensait qu’ils étaient morts, que c’était fini. Un an après, les arbres ont refait feuilles et fruits, et on s’est dit que c’était un signe… »

Deuxième défi : les coûts énergétiques. Entre les grands froids et les courtes périodes d’ensoleillement de l’hiver, il faut compenser en lumière artificielle et redoubler d’ingéniosité pour chauffer, certes, mais aussi pour garder la chaleur sous la serre et réduire les pertes d’énergie. Le plan énergétique devient aussi important que l’attention portée aux arbres — avis aux bricoleurs/inventeurs qui auraient des idées géniales !

L’autre défi : le manque de références, ici, en ce qui concerne ce type de culture. Vyckie a dû se rendre au sud du Portugal dans les jardins de Jean Paul Brigand — un séjour éducatif tout de même agréable ! — pour apprendre comment tailler les arbres, prévenir les maladies, et bien s’occuper des fleurs, et des fruits.

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

L’engouement de la part des chefs et restaurateurs. « Pas seulement pour les fruits en eux-mêmes, mais aussi parce qu’ils poussent ici, au Québec. On se soucie de plus en plus de la provenance des produits, de l’empreinte écologique, et on veut les aliments les plus frais », explique Vyckie.

Dans cette foulée, des brasseurs et des distilleries s’intéressent aussi à O’Citrus pour la création de produits entièrement locaux. L’appellation «  Produit du Québec  » exige que tous les ingrédients proviennent d’ici. Dans un monde idéal et à l’ère du gaspillage zéro, le jus irait aux chefs et barmans, et le zeste à divers acteurs du monde agroalimentaire… À suivre !

 

INSPIRATIONS

Si l’achat du premier arbre s’est fait par curiosité, les autres variétés ont été choisies en parcourant des livres de recettes ou selon les tendances à la carte des restaurants visités par la famille gastronome. Aujourd’hui, les échanges avec les partenaires d’ici et Jean Paul Brigand — celui-ci faisant preuve d’une grande générosité en partageant les désirs et demandes des chefs européens étoilés avec qui il travaille — inspirent les prochaines acquisitions.

 

yuzu

Yuzu

main de bouddha

Main de bouddha

ASPIRATIONS

Être la référence en agrumes, les pionniers d’une ère d’innovation. Développer la niche des fruits et légumes rares ou nouveaux, en redonnant vie à des variétés anciennes, ou carrément disparues — il y a des rumeurs de collaboration avec Michel Lachaume des Artisans des saveurs. « J’ai envie de travailler avec tous les différents intervenants de ce mouvement en ébullition qu’est l’agriculture de proximité. Moi, toute seule dans ma serre, je ne sais pas ce que les gens vont vouloir. Mais plein de monde ensemble, ça peut créer de belles réussites. »

 

FAITS MARQUANTS

« Ce qui a été vraiment marquant, c’est notre production de la dernière année ! » Grâce aux connaissances acquises dans le sud du Portugal, les soins prodigués aux arbres et aux fleurs ont porté fruit ! 2017 a été la première vraie année de commercialisation des agrumes O’Citrus.

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Risotto aux champignons

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 2017

kumquat

Kumquat

 

Site Web O’Citrus : À venir.
Site Web Ferme d’Auteuil : www.fermedauteuil.com

Facebook O’Citrus : À venir.
Facebook Ferme d’Auteuil : www.facebook.com/fermevaillancourt

HAUT