UN OCÉAN DE SAVEURS

ANTOINE NICOLAS

THE ALGAE HUNTER

by / Monday, 05 March 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAME

Antoine Nicolas

 

COMPANY

Un Océan de saveurs

 

PRODUCT

Sea vegetables and seafood harvested on demand and Fourchette bleue certified, meaning that they are produced responsibly for healthy management of marine resources in the Saint Lawrence River.

In other words, the company collects, processes and distributes 15 varieties of Gaspé seaweed, harvested year-round, delivered throughout Quebec and available at more than 60 locations across the province. They also distribute sustainable seafood products, including lobster and shrimp.

 

BACKGROUND

The company was founded in 2011 in Cap-aux-Os, a village surrounded by Forillon National Park in Quebec’s Gaspé region.

 

TRAINING

Mr. Nicolas is a highly skilled diver (SCUBA and freediving), holds a master’s degree in food science and technology (focussing on seafood), and has training in aquaculture. A member of the Ordre des agronomes du Québec (OAQ), he is also a researcher in seafood processing at Merinov (Quebec’s centre for innovation in aquaculture and fisheries), as well as a diving instructor (freediving).

 

INITIAL SPARK

Antoine harvested seaweed for the first time during a summer job in his native Brittany. He soon felt the desire to start a company combining seafood, aquaculture and the smart processing of these products. While pursuing his master’s degree, he did an internship in the Gaspé region. Here, he would dive for three to four hours at a time under extreme conditions, including pack ice and a temperature equivalent to minus 50 °C. Antoine found these conditions not chilling, but charming! He had found a magical place to live!

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

Promoting his products. “Here, we are less accustomed to eating seaweed,” says the man who includes seaweed, in more than one form, in his three meals a day! We know that seaweed, with its high protein and mineral content, ranks among the “superfoods.” For example, it contains twice as many vitamins and minerals as fruits and vegetables, fresh wakame provides 20% more calcium than milk (when dried, it contains 10 times more!), and green nori has 41 g of protein per 100 g, for only a little over 200 calories!

Halfway between food and a dietary supplement, seaweed is an excellent source of fibre, stimulates the immune system and may have anti-cancer properties. “Our challenge is to promote the many flavours and uses of seaweed. You can just as easily put it in a cocktail, a salad or a dessert. The goal is to integrate it naturally into your daily diet, as a condiment or an ingredient in its own right.

 

NICE SURPRISES

The Gaspé is a postcard! I live in a postcard!” The fact that this diver/harvester’s work environment is “extreme, but very beautiful,” is his nicest permanent surprise. “Sometimes it appears to be snowing under water! When ice crystals are suspended in the sea, it’s magical!”

 

INSPIRATIONS

In the category of “starting a business based on your convictions and with a project you care about,” Antoine’s inspirations include Sylvain Huchette, a fisherman with a doctorate in shellfish farming and the founder of France Haliotis, a Brittany-based aquaculture company that produces organic abalone fed with seaweed.

He is also inspired by this quote from Steve Jobs:
If you don’t build your dreams, someone else will hire you to build theirs.

And this quote from Oscar Wilde:
Wisdom is to have dreams big enough not to lose sight when we pursue them.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Increase his selection of ready-to-use products – such as flakes that can be easily added to recipes, as seaweed is a natural flavour enhancer – as well as ready-to-eat products. For example, seaweed-flavoured chocolate, which was a huge success at recent Christmas markets in the city. “We chose three varieties that complement each other,” Antoine explains. “Wakame for its hazelnut side, royal kombu for its sweet and salty crispiness, and royal kombu for its caramel and fleur de sel flavours. When a food goes well with chocolate, it goes well with everything! That’s what we want people to discover. They may be a little skeptical at first, but are delighted after tasting the products and learning about all the possible uses of seaweed.

algue algue-2 algue-3

HIGHLIGHTS

Un Océan de saveurs is witnessing a tide of recognition from its peers, people in the agribusiness and restaurant industries. In addition to the many stores where you can buy the company’s products, you will find many of Quebec’s greatest chefs using them.

Since its main competitors are in Asia, the company focusses on being a local business offering high quality products. In this regard, Antoine crosses his fingers for the new organic certification that he is awaiting this spring (2018).

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Seaweed tartare

Tartare d'algues Un Océan de saveurs

Ingredients:

– 30 g of dried seaweed rehydrated or 100 g of fresh seaweed
– 1/2 onion
– 1 échalote
– 2 garlic cloves
– 2 c.s. of capers
– 2 – 3 pickles
– 1 lemon juice
– 3 c.s. of tamari or soy sauce
– 1/4 – 1/2 cup of olive oil, to taste

Preparation:

Finely mix all the ingredients. Taste before adding ground black pepper.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 2017

Antoine met our executive chef Simon Laborde at the 2017 Expo Manger Santé et Vivre Vert.

Antoine Nicolas

Website: oceandesaveurs.ca

Facebook: facebook.com/oceandesaveurs

Where you can buy the products: Montréal: Odessa Poissionnier, Poissonnerie La Mer, Vrac & Bocaux – Épicerie Bio, Espace organique, Méga Vrac. Québec: Chez Boulay – comptoir boréal, Pêcheries Raymond Desbois – Quartier Sillery. Coming soon to the Eastern Townships.

 

Top photos credits: Xavier Girard Lachaîne, Caroline Bolieu / Algae photos: Caroline Bolieu

TOP

UN OCÉAN DE SAVEURS

ANTOINE NICOLAS

LE CHASSEUR D’ALGUES

par / Lundi, 05 Mars 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOM

Antoine Nicolas

 

ENTREPRISE

Un Océan de saveurs

 

PRODUIT

Légumes et fruits de mer récoltés sur demande, certifiés Fourchette bleue — produits de façon responsable pour une gestion saine des ressources marines du Saint-Laurent.

Autrement dit, cueillette, transformation et distribution d’algues de la Gaspésie récoltées à l’année (15 variétés !), livrées partout au Québec et disponibles dans plus de 60 points de vente à travers la province, ainsi que la distribution de produits de la pêche durable, tels le homard et la crevette.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

2011, à Cap-aux-Os, village enclavé dans le Parc Forillon en Gaspésie.

 

FORMATION

D’abord plongeur émérite (bouteille et apnée), Monsieur Nicolas détient une maîtrise en science et technologie des aliments concentrée sur les produits de la mer, ainsi qu’une formation en aquaculture. Membre de l’Ordre des agronomes du Québec (OAQ), il est aussi chercheur en transformation des produits de la mer chez Merinov (Centre d’Innovation de l’aquaculture et des pêches du Québec) et professeur de plongée (en apnée).

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Antoine récolte les algues pour la première fois lors d’un travail d’été en Bretagne, sa patrie d’origine. Rapidement, il ressent le désir de créer une entreprise qui lie produits de la mer, aquaculture et transformation intelligente de ces produits. Au cours de ses études de maîtrise, il fait un stage en Gaspésie, où les conditions de plongée plutôt extrêmes — plonger avec une banquise à une température sous l’eau équivalente à -50 °C durant 3 ou 4 heures —, loin de le « refroidir », le charment ! Il a trouvé le lieu magique où s’installer !

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

Faire connaître les produits : « Ici, on a moins l’habitude de consommer les algues », nous dit celui qui les intègre, sous plus d’une forme, dans ses 3 repas quotidiens ! On le sait, les algues, avec leur haut rendement en protéines et minéraux, se classent parmi les « superaliments ». Par exemple, elles offrent deux fois plus de vitamines et minéraux que les fruits et légumes, le wakamé frais contient 20 % plus de calcium que le lait (séché, il en contient 10 fois plus !) et le nori vert compte 41 g de protéines par 100 g, pour seulement 200 et quelques calories !

À mi-chemin entre aliment et complément alimentaire, les algues sont une excellente source de fibres, stimulent le système immunitaire et auraient des propriétés anti-cancer. « Notre défi est de faire connaître les multiples saveurs et utilisations des algues. On peut aussi bien les incorporer à un cocktail, une salade ou un dessert. L’objectif, c’est de les intégrer naturellement à l’alimentation de tous les jours, comme condiment ou ingrédient à part entière. »

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« La Gaspésie est une carte postale ! Je vis dans une carte postale ! » Le cadre de travail, « extrême, mais très beau », est la plus belle surprise perpétuelle du plongeur-récolteur. « Parfois, on dirait qu’il neige sous l’eau ! Quand les cristaux de glace sont en suspension dans la mer, c’est féérique ! »

 

INSPIRATIONS

Dans la catégorie « lancer son entreprise selon nos convictions avec un projet qui nous tient à cœur » : Sylvain Huchette, pêcheur docteur en conchyliculture (élevage des coquillages comestibles) et fondateur de France Haliotis, entreprise bretonne d’aquaculture d’ormeaux bios nourris aux algues.

Cette phrase de Steve Jobs :
« Si vous ne travaillez pas pour vos rêves, quelqu’un vous embauchera pour travailler pour les siens. »

Et cette phrase d’Oscar Wilde :
« La sagesse c’est d’avoir des rêves suffisamment grands pour ne pas les perdre de vue lorsqu’on les poursuit. »

 

ASPIRATIONS

Augmenter l’offre du prêt-à-utiliser — comme des flocons à ajouter simplement aux recettes, les algues étant des exhausteurs naturels de goût — et du prêt-à-manger. Par exemple, le chocolat aux algues, énorme succès lors des récents marchés de Noël en ville. « Nous avons choisi trois espèces qui se complètent bien ; le wakamé pour le côté noisette, le kombu royal pour le croustillant sucré salé et le kombu pour l’aspect caramel et fleur de sel », nous explique Antoine Nicolas. « Quand un aliment se marie bien au chocolat, il se marie bien à tout ! C’est ce que nous souhaitons faire découvrir aux gens », poursuit-il. « Les gens sont peut-être un peu sceptiques au départ, mais enchantés par la dégustation et tous les usages possibles avec les algues ».

algue algue-2 algue-3

FAITS MARQUANTS

Un Océan de saveurs est témoin d’une remarquable reconnaissance des pairs, gens des industries agroalimentaires et de la restauration. D’ailleurs, mis à part les nombreux points de vente de ses différents produits, on retrouve ses merveilleux fruits de la mer chez les plus grands chefs du Québec.

Ses principaux compétiteurs se trouvant en Asie, l’entreprise mise sur ce lien de proximité et sur la qualité — à ce sujet, elle se espère obtenir la certification biologique dès ce printemps (2018).

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Tartare d’algues

Tartare d'algues Un Océan de saveurs

Ingrédients :

– 30 g d’algues sèches réhydratées ou 100 g d’algues fraîches
– 1/2 oignon
– 1 échalote
– 2 gousses d’ail
– 2 c. à soupe de câpres
– 2 à 3 cornichons
– 1 jus de citron
– 3 c. à soupe de sauce tamari ou soja
– 1/4 à 1/2 de tasse d’huile d’olive, au goût

Préparation :

Réunissez tous les ingrédients et mixez le tout très finement.
Goûtez le tartare avant d’ajouter du poivre du moulin.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 2017

Depuis sa rencontre avec notre chef exécutif Simon Laborde à l’Expo Manger Santé et Vivre Vert.

Antoine Nicolas

Site Web : oceandesaveurs.ca

Facebook : facebook.com/oceandesaveurs

Quelques points de vente : Montréal : Odessa Poissionnier, Poissonnerie La Mer, Vrac & Bocaux – Épicerie Bio, Espace organique, Méga Vrac. Québec : Chez Boulay — comptoir boréal, Pêcheries Raymond Desbois — Quartier Sillery. Bientôt en Estrie.

 

Crédits photos du haut : Xavier Girard Lachaîne, Caroline Bolieu / Photos des algues : Caroline Bolieu

HAUT