A TERROIR VODKA MADE IN THE CITY

by / Monday, 06 November 2017 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAME

Sylvain Lague, President and Co-founder

 

COMPANY

White Keys Vodka

 

PRODUCT

White Keys Vodka: a vodka made from high-quality local products, including carefully selected Canadian grains (corn and barley) and sap water from Quebec maple trees.

 

FOUNDING OF THE COMPANY

The first White Keys Vodka was bottled in the fall of 2016 in Montreal, in the industrial neighbourhood of Rosemont. However, the adventure began well before that time, resulting from a meeting between young entrepreneurs who worked in different fields and wanted to combine their strengths to create a unique and quality product. Since all were music lovers, the name came naturally to them: White Keys, like the white keys of a piano.

 

TRAINING

Sylvain Lague is the company’s president and co-founder. As he plays a pivotal role within the group because of his expertise in spirits, you could say that he “fell into it when he was little.” After working for more than eight years at the SAQ – while studying to obtain a bachelor’s degree in marketing – he switched to the world of importing wines and spirits, becoming a brand manager for various products.

 

INITIAL SPARK

After contacting big names in the cocktail and mixology industry, Sylvain developed the idea of designing spirits. He started with an inspiring vodka which, thanks to a precious partnership, would be made according to a precise and measured process, along with a well-mastered art. “This is what Lilian Wolfelsberger, a fifth generation French distiller who uses a Chalvignac still (the only one in Canada), and sap water producers De l’Aubier, whose product comes from Canadian maple trees and has ranked best in the world, enabled us to make.

 

NICE SURPRISES

The exceptional popularity of our product since it was launched in October 2016! That’s what we were aiming for, but when it happens, it’s really extraordinary,” Sylvain explains.

 

GREATEST CHALLENGES

To be successful is one thing. But you have to be able to “assure” after that, and keep up with demand. At White Keys Vodka, nothing has been left to chance, and these young entrepreneurs with multiple skills have plenty of projects on the drawing board… The sequel promises to be equally explosive!

 

INSPIRATIONS

The team at White Keys Vodka is driven by the same desire to create and reinvent new ways of expressing themselves. As they say on their website: “White Keys Vodka brings together a community of creative souls, whether they be artists, chefs, authors, entrepreneurs, musicians or dreamers.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Get everyone in Quebec, the rest of Canada, Europe and the United States to taste White Keys Vodka. “Because once you taste our vodka, you’ll be a fan. De l’Aubier sap water gives it a distinctive and memorable texture that makes it simply irresistible.

 

DISTINCTIONS

Gold Medal, Tasting/Design, International Wine and Spirit Competition
Gold Medal, San Francisco World Spirit Competition

 

FAVOURITE COCKTAIL

The “Nevksy,” which in found on the menu of all Les Enfants Terribles restaurants.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE

2016

White Keys Vodka

Website: https://whitekeysvodka.com/vodka-quebec/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/whitekeysvodka/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/whitekeysvodka/

TOP

UNE VODKA DU TERROIR FABRIQUÉE EN VILLE

par / Lundi, 06 Novembre 2017 / Publié dans Fanzine, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOM

Sylvain Lague, président cofondateur

 

ENTREPRISE

White Keys Vodka

 

PRODUIT

Vodka White Keys – Une vodka qui se compose de produits du terroir de haute qualité : un grain canadien (maïs et orge) sélectionné avec soin et une eau végétale de sève, issue des érables des forêts québécoises.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

C’est à Montréal, dans le quartier industriel de Rosemont, que la première vodka White Keys a été embouteillée, à l’automne 2016. Mais cette aventure avait commencé bien avant, fruit de la rencontre entre jeunes entrepreneurs œuvrant dans différents domaines, qui souhaitaient allier leurs forces pour créer un produit unique et de qualité. Tous passionnés de musique, le nom leur est venu naturellement : White Keys, comme les touches blanches d’un piano.

 

FORMATION

Sylvain Lague est président et cofondateur de cette entreprise. Jouant un rôle pivot au sein du groupe en raison de son expertise en matière de spiritueux, on pourrait dire qu’il « est tombé dedans quand il était petit ». Après avoir travaillé pendant plus de huit ans à la SAQ — tout en poursuivant ses études pour l’obtention d’un baccalauréat en marketing —, il a basculé dans le monde de l’importation des vins et des spiritueux, devenant gestionnaire de marque pour divers produits.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Au contact des grands noms de l’industrie du cocktail et de la mixologie, Sylvain développe l’idée de concevoir des spiritueux. À commencer par une vodka inspirante qui, grâce à une précieuse collaboration, serait fabriquée selon un processus précis et mesuré, et un art bien maîtrisé : « C’est ce que nous ont permis de faire Lilian Wolfelsberger, bouilleur de cru français de cinquième génération qui utilise un alambic Chalvignac (le seul au Canada), et les producteurs de l’eau de sève De l’Aubier, une eau qui provient d’érablières de chez nous et qui s’est classée meilleure eau au monde. »

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« L’engouement exceptionnel que connaît notre produit depuis sa sortie sur le marché, en octobre 2016 ! C’est ce que nous visions, mais quand ça arrive, c’est vraiment extraordinaire », explique Sylvain Lague.

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

Avoir du succès, c’est une chose. Mais il faut pouvoir « assurer » par la suite, et répondre à la demande. Chez White Keys Vodka, rien n’a été laissé au hasard et ces jeunes entrepreneurs aux multiples compétences ont plein de projets sur la planche à dessin… La suite promet d’être aussi explosive !

 

INSPIRATIONS

L’équipe de White Keys Vodka est animée par la même volonté de créer et de réinventer de nouvelles façons de s’exprimer. « La vodka White Keys rassemble une communauté composée d’âmes créatives, qu’elles soient artistes, chefs, écrivaines, entrepreneures, musiciennes ou rêveuses », peut-on lire sur leur site Web.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Faire goûter la vodka White Keys à tout le monde au Québec, dans le reste du Canada, en Europe, et aux États-Unis. « Parce qu’une fois qu’on goûte à notre vodka, le tour est joué. L’eau de sève De l’Aubier lui donne une texture distinctive et mémorable qui la rend tout simplement irrésistible ».

 

DISTINCTIONS

Médaille d’or, Tasting/Design, International Wine and Spirit Competition
Médaille d’or, San Francisco World Spirit Competition

 

COCKTAIL PRÉFÉRÉ

Le « Nevksy », que l’on retrouve sur la carte de tous Les Enfants Terribles.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS

2016

White Keys Vodka

Site Web : https://whitekeysvodka.com/vodka-quebec/

Facebook :  https://www.facebook.com/whitekeysvodka/

Instagram :  https://www.instagram.com/whitekeysvodka/

HAUT