"1642"

TONIC, COLA & CIE, MADE IN MONTRÉAL

by / Monday, 04 February 2019 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAMES

Bastien Poulain and Mélanie Mamet

 

COMPANY

1642. Yes, that’s their name. It’s also the year Montréal, the city that inspired company founder Bastien Poulain, was founded.

 

PRODUCTS

1642 beverages are premium quality, preservative-free sparkling beverages made from natural ingredients: natural sugars (apple juice, honey, maple syrup, cane sugar), spring water, natural flavours (cola nuts, ginger, bergamot, orange, spruce, etc.):

  • 1642 Cola: a cola with a reinvented flavour, thanks to natural ingredients and a touch of maple syrup.
  • 1642 Tonic: a tonic water flavoured with spruce and lime, with no quinine.
  • 1642 Ginger: a ginger beer combining ginger, apple juice and honey.
  • 1642 Orange: an orange soda with subtle notes of bergamot, bitter orange peel and Labrador tea.

 

BACKGROUND

1642 Orange
Bastien arrived in Montreal in 2008 with a one-year work permit and literally fell in love with the city. A decade later, he feels at home here. “I don’t mind the winters, I feel good here, I’m at home,” he explains. That says it all. You might even say he has almost adopted the accent. It’s true that Brittany and Quebec share close ties. And let’s remember that Jacques Cartier was born in Saint-Malo.

With a master’s degree in international marketing, this young professional first worked in the hotel industry for a few years, where he was responsible for the sales and marketing of two four-star establishments. Coming from a line of entrepreneurs (his father and grandfather), “the apple didn’t fall far from the tree,” he says. He soon identified a niche that he wanted to explore.

My idea was to start a line of local sparkling beverages. Montreal is brimming with new artisanal microdistilleries that offer outstanding quality products, and to go with them, we only found industrial products that do not stand out,” he tells us. It is true that about three quarters of a gin and tonic is tonic water. You might as well use a good tonic. This very principle led him to devise the other products from 1642. The goal was to enhance the experience of the cocktail and mocktail (alcohol-free cocktail). While his original ambition was to offer a local alternative to carbonated drinks, 1642 dreamed bigger and adapted its products so that they could be served both as mixes and alone.

In 2015, Bastien founded his company, which he named “1642” in honour of Montreal and the pioneers who founded it. “Montreal is a gastronomic city that is constantly reinventing itself, as we also want to do,” says the young entrepreneur.

 

TRAINING

If we had done everything we needed to do ahead of time, we definitely would have panicked,” he says. “We went through the steps one at a time, hiring a chemist to help us with the recipes, relying on our friends to act as consultants by tasting our products.

In terms of product marketing, Mélanie Mamet and Bastien Poulain make a complementary duo. With her as an accountant and him as a marketing specialist, they were able to put their expertise to work so that once produced, the beverages from 1642 took over the market.

 

INITIAL SPARK

It’s Montréal that provided me with this spark,” says Bastien. “A city where life is good and everything is possible.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

It’s difficult to make a name for yourself in a market where you’re competing against large multinationals such as those in the sparkling beverage market. But when you’re an entrepreneur, you have to create your product and make it known. And for that, all methods are good. We set up partnerships, we made ourselves known to microdistilleries, we created a network of natural ambassadors.

 

NICEST SURPRISES

“Meetings with all the people who helped and supported us.”

 

INSPIRATION

My greatest inspiration is entrepreneurs: Serge Beauchemin (one of my “dragons” when I participated in the show), Dominique Brown (owner of Chocolats Favoris) and my father, a remarkable entrepreneur. They helped me keep moving forward, even on the rainy days, by sharing their methods, tricks, business models and ways of working.

 

ASPIRATIONS

First and foremost, to give back to Quebec what it has given me. And then, buying local is not just a trend or a fashion. It’s here to stay. I’m a strong advocate of this new way of looking at things, which my company must reflect.

 

HIGHLIGHTS

The day I met Celine Dion by chance at Schwartz’s. I gave her a bottle of 1642 Tonic and she loved it! You know, when Celine Dion hugs you, it’s an unforgettable memory.

And, of course, the day I met Mélanie Mamet, who soon became my partner and without whom 1642 would not have been able to succeed. She said, “I love your project,” and it was off. Today, we have more than a thousand points of sale in Quebec, Ontario, Alberta, France… We manage to work miracles! A big thank you , Melanie!

 

FAVOURITE DISH

For Bastien, it’s the ribs on the menu at Les Enfants Terribles (he swears it’s true, it’s not for advertising!).

For Mélanie, it’s her mother’s beef stew, with her garden vegetables and beef raised by her brother, who is a farmer. Apparently it tastes heavenly!

 

ENFANTS TERRIBLES SINCE 2016

1642 Tonic

Website: www.1642.ca

Facebook: facebook.com/1642.ca

Instagram: instagram.com/1642.ca

TOP

fbpx

« 1642 »

TONIC, COLA ET CIE, FABRIQUÉS À MONTRÉAL

par / Lundi, 04 Février 2019 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOMS

Bastien Poulain et Mélanie Mamet

 

ENTREPRISE

1642. Oui, c’est bien le nom de l’entreprise. C’est aussi la date de la fondation de Montréal, dont s’est directement inspiré le fondateur de l’entreprise, Bastien Poulain.

 

PRODUIT

Les boissons 1642 sont des boissons effervescentes de qualité, sans agent de conservation et faites à partir d’ingrédients naturels : des sucres naturels (jus de pomme, miel, sirop d’érable, sucre de canne), de l’eau de source, des arômes naturels (noix de cola, gingembre, bergamote, orange, épinette, etc.) :

  • 1642 Cola : un cola au goût revisité grâce à ses ingrédients naturels et une légère note de sirop d’érable.
  • 1642 Tonic : une eau tonique aux arômes d’épinette et de lime, sans quinine.
  • 1642 Ginger : une bière de gingembre alliant savoureusement gingembre, jus de pomme et miel.
  • 1642 Orange : une orangeade aux notes subtiles de bergamote, d’écorce d’orange amère et de thé du labrador.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

1642 Orange
Arrivé ici en 2008, muni d’un permis de travail d’un an, Bastien Poulain est — littéralement — tombé en amour avec Montréal. Dix ans plus tard, il y est chez lui. « Je ne regarde pas les hivers, je me sens bien ici, je suis chez moi », explique-t-il. C’est tout dire. Même qu’on pourrait avancer qu’il a presque pris l’accent. Vrai qu’entre la Bretagne et le Québec, ça circule bien. Et Jacques Cartier est né à Saint-Malo, faut-il le rappeler.

Possédant une maîtrise en marketing international, ce jeune professionnel a d’abord travaillé dans le domaine hôtelier pendant quelques années, responsable des ventes et du marketing de deux établissements quatre étoiles. Descendant d’une lignée d’entrepreneurs (son père et son grand-père), « la pomme n’est pas tombée loin de l’arbre », dit-il. Il a identifié bientôt une « niche » qu’il a eu envie d’explorer.

« Mon idée était de partir une ligne de boissons effervescentes locales. Montréal regorge de nouvelles microdistilleries artisanales qui offrent des produits d’une qualité exceptionnelle, et pour les accompagner, on ne trouvait que des produits industriels qui ne se démarquent pas », nous raconte-t-il. Il est vrai que dans un « gin tonic », on retrouve environ ¾ d’eau tonique. Autant se servir d’un bon tonique… Le même principe a mené à la concoction des autres produits de 1642. Le but : rehausser l’expérience du cocktail et du mocktail (cocktail sans alcool). Si l’ambition à l’origine était de proposer une alternative locale aux boissons gazeuses, 1642 a vu plus grand et a décliné ses produits pour qu’ils puissent être aussi bien servis en mixers que seuls.

En 2015, Bastien Poulain fondait son entreprise, qu’il a baptisée « 1642 » en l’honneur de Montréal et des pionniers qui l’ont fondée. « Montréal est une ville gastronomique qui ne cesse de se réinventer, comme nous aussi voulons le faire », de dire le jeune entrepreneur.

 

FORMATION

« Si nous avions réalisé à l’avance tout ce qu’il nous fallait faire, nous aurions certainement paniqué, raconte-t-il. Nous avons traversé les étapes les unes après les autres, retenant les services d’un chimiste qui nous a aidés avec les recettes, comptant sur nos amis qui agissaient à titre de consultants en goûtant nos produits. »

Sur le plan de la commercialisation des produits, Mélanie Mamet et Bastien Poulain forment un duo complémentaire. Respectivement comptable et spécialisé en marketing, ils ont su mettre leurs expertises à contribution pour que, une fois fabriquées, les boissons 1642 envahissent le marché.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

« C’est Montréal qui me l’a fournie, cette étincelle, nous répond Bastien. Une ville où il fait bon vivre et où tout est possible. »

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« Il est difficile de se faire connaître dans un marché où on se mesure à des multinationales de grande envergure comme celles qui occupent le marché des boissons effervescentes. Mais quand tu es un entrepreneur, tu dois créer ton produit et le faire connaître. Et pour cela, toutes les techniques sont bonnes. On a mis sur pied des partenariats, on s’est fait connaître auprès des microdistilleries, on s’est fait un réseau d’ambassadeurs naturels. »

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« Les rencontres avec tous ceux et celles qui nous ont aidés, accompagnés. »

 

INSPIRATION

« Ma plus grande inspiration, ce sont des entrepreneurs : Serge Beauchemin (l’un de mes “dragons” dans le cadre de ma participation à l’émission), Dominique Brown (propriétaire de Chocolats favoris) et mon père, un remarquable entrepreneur. Ils m’ont permis de continuer à avancer, même les jours de grisaille, en partageant avec moi leurs démarches, leurs astuces, leurs modèles d’affaires, leurs modes de fonctionnement. »

 

ASPIRATIONS

« D’abord et avant tout, redonner au Québec ce qu’il m’a donné. »

« Et puis, “Acheter local’, ce n’est pas seulement une tendance ou une mode. C’est là pour rester. Je suis un ardent défenseur de cette nouvelle façon de voir les choses, que mon entreprise se doit de refléter. »

 

FAITS MARQUANTS

« Le jour où j’ai rencontré Céline Dion, chez Schwartz, par hasard… Je lui ai offert une bouteille de 1642 Tonic, elle a adoré ! Tsé, quand Céline Dion te fait un câlin, c’est un souvenir impérissable ! »

« Et bien sûr le jour aussi où j’ai rencontré Mélanie Mamet, qui est vite devenue mon associée et sans qui 1642 n’aurait pu prendre son envol. Elle m’a dit “J’adore ton projet”, et c’était parti. Aujourd’hui, on plus de mille points de vente, au Québec, en Ontario, en Alberta, en France… On arrive à faire des miracles ! Mille mercis, Mélanie ! »

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Pour Bastien, ce sont les côtes levées au menu chez Les Enfants terribles (il jure que c’est vrai, ce n’est pas pour la pub !)

Pour Mélanie, c’est le pot au feu de sa maman, avec ses légumes du jardin et le bœuf élevé par son frère agriculteur. Paraît que ça goûte le ciel !

 

ENFANTS TERRIBLES DEPUIS 2016

1642 Tonic

Site Web : www.1642.ca

Facebook : facebook.com/1642.ca

Instagram : instagram.com/1642.ca

HAUT