fbpx

CHOCOLAT MONTRÉAL

CUSTOM CHOCOLATE

by / Monday, 01 October 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

Florence Paquin-Mallette et Ludovic Fresse

NAMES

Florence Paquin-Mallette and Ludovic Fresse

 

COMPANY

Chocolat Montréal

 

PRODUCTS

A classic range of artisanal chocolates offered online and through certain retail outlets.

Thanks to their know-how and cutting-edge technology, which allows customers to completely personalize the product, from the surface of the chocolate to the packaging and flavour, Chocolat Montréal stands out in the corporate gift sector and on the local gastronomy scene.

 

BACKGROUND

Just over a year ago, Florence Paquin-Mallette and Ludovic Fresse founded Chocolat Montréal. As partners in life and the proud parents of little Claire and little Édouard, they had both reached a turning point in their careers. Florence, a graduate in French literature and a textile artisan, looked after the little one. For his part, Ludovic wanted to realize one of his dreams: create a workshop to make artisanal-quality chocolate with production optimized to meet the needs of a corporate clientele. This seasoned entrepreneur and chocolate maker, well known in the artisanal chocolate sector (he has 20 years of experience with Chocolats Privilège, which he co-owned and whose current success he largely contributed to), needed a new challenge: to become a “businessman-chocolatier.”

The time was right for this couple of “entrepreneur parents with kids” to create a business in their image. “We wanted to embark on a different business model, which would not have a storefront. This would allow us to focus on production.” Living in Pointe-Saint-Charles, they went on a search for a workshop near their home, and found one in Côte-Saint-Paul. The children have their own little corner, with their own toys.

The workshop was a success. Thanks to highly innovative technologies, production capacity has reached the level that Ludovic dreamed of. Running at full capacity, Chocolat Montréal could turn out between 300 and 350 kilos of finished products each day.

But while production is now optimized, they have made no compromise in terms of manufacturing quality and raw materials.

 

TRAINING

Chocolate making is an expensive and very sophisticated activity. It cannot be improvised, it requires know-how,” Florence says. Ludovic Fresse, a native of France, is a master chocolatier. He has worked in Europe, notably in France and Luxembourg, in the United States and finally in Quebec, where he has lived for more than 20 years.

 

INITIAL SPARK

Our initial motivation was to find a way to work together while balancing our family life.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

… And that’s precisely our biggest challenge: running a family business and finding a balance! People often say we have created a company based on work-life balance,” Florence explains. “Our schedules are flexible. We live within walking or cycling distance of the workshop. We have put all the odds on our side.

She adds that another major challenge is to separate work and personal life. “When you are a business couple, it’s not always easy to ‘stop the machine’ and talk about something else!

 

NICE SURPRISES

The quality of our customers, without any hesitation. It’s very comforting to see how Ludovic’s network of contacts, whether they are suppliers or customers, was there to help us when we started out. It’s a trust that goes far beyond the company, a trust that has a really touching human side.

 

INSPIRATIONS

The great Parisian chocolate makers, for example DUCASSE Paris, created by Alain Ducasse. The quality of their products, the respect for tradition and the creativity of this company, which maintains its artisanal authenticity, are a great inspiration to us.

 

ASPIRATION

That our company becomes autonomous while preserving our values. That the team becomes synonymous with Chocolat Montréal, and no longer just Florence and Ludovic!

We are also big admirers of companies whose missions go beyond their business goals, such as the goal of promoting local products. That is what we aspire to.

 

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Chocolat Montréal was selected among a large number of candidates to be included in CODE SOUVENIR MONTRÉAL, a catalogue created by Design Montréal and an initiative of the Bureau du design to promote Montréal’s creativity.

  • The company was one of the laureates of Fondation Montréal Inc. in 2018, winning a grant and entrepreneurial support.

  • Publication of an article in the gastronomy magazine Exquis.

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Unlike Ludovic, who never seems to get away from chocolate (his favorite dish is chocolate mousse!), Florence has a salty tooth (not a sweet one). It seems that opposites attract. Her favourite dish is Caesar salad, the real deal, with the works: parmesan, anchovies, croutons, etc.

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 2018

Website: chocolatmontreal.com

Facebook: facebook.com/atelierchocolatmontreal

Instagram: instagram.com/chocolatmontreal

TOP

CHOCOLAT MONTRÉAL

CHOCOLAT SUR MESURE

par / Lundi, 01 Octobre 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

Florence Paquin-Mallette et Ludovic Fresse

NOMS

Florence Paquin-Mallette et Ludovic Fresse

 

ENTREPRISE

Chocolat Montréal

 

PRODUITS

Une gamme classique de chocolats artisanaux distribuée en ligne et dans certains points de vente.

Grâce à un savoir-faire et à une technologie de pointe qui permettent la personnalisation complète du produit — de la surface du chocolat à l’emballage en passant par la saveur — Chocolat Montréal se fait remarquer dans le secteur du cadeau corporatif et de la gastronomie locale.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

Il y a à peine plus d’un an, Florence Paquin-Mallette et Ludovic Fresse fondaient Chocolat Montréal. Partenaires dans la vie et les fiers parents d’une petite Claire et d’un petit Édouard, ils étaient tous deux arrivés à un tournant sur le plan professionnel. Florence, diplômée en littérature française et artisane textile, s’occupait du tout-petit. Ludovic, quant à lui, souhaitait réaliser l’un de ses rêves, celui de créer un atelier de fabrication de chocolat de qualité artisanale avec une production optimisée qui répondrait aux besoins d’une clientèle corporative. Chocolatier et entrepreneur chevronné reconnu dans le secteur de la chocolaterie artisanale (il compte notamment 20 années d’expérience au sein de Chocolats Privilège dont il était copropriétaire, ayant largement contribué au succès que connaît l’entreprise aujourd’hui), il avait besoin d’un nouveau défi, celui de devenir « chocolatier d’affaires ».

Le moment était opportun pour ce couple d’« entrepreneurs-parents-d’enfants-en-bas-âge » de créer une entreprise qui leur ressemblerait. « On avait envie de se lancer dans un modèle différent d’entreprise, qui n’aurait pas pignon sur rue. Cela nous permet de nous concentrer sur la production, » nous dit Florence. Habitant Pointe-Saint-Charles, ils sont partis à la recherche d’un atelier qui soit près de la maison, qu’ils ont trouvé à Côte-Saint-Paul. Les enfants y ont leur petit coin à eux, avec leurs jouets.

L’atelier est un succès. Grâce aux technologies les plus innovantes, la capacité de production a atteint le niveau dont Ludovic rêvait : à plein régime, Chocolat Montréal serait en mesure de sortir entre 300 et 350 kilos de produits finis quotidiennement.

Mais si la production est aujourd’hui optimisée, aucune concession n’a été faite sur le plan de la qualité de la fabrication et des matières premières.

 

FORMATION

« La fabrication du chocolat est une activité qui est coûteuse et très sophistiquée. Elle ne peut s’improviser, il faut du savoir-faire, » selon Florence. Français d’origine, Ludovic Fresse est maître-chocolatier. Il a travaillé en Europe, notamment en France et au Luxembourg, aux États-Unis et enfin au Québec, où il s’est établi il y a plus de 20 ans.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

« Notre motivation de départ était de trouver une façon de travailler ensemble tout en assurant l’équilibre de notre vie familiale. »

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« … Et c’est justement cela qui représente notre plus grand défi : faire rouler une entreprise familiale et trouver un équilibre ! On dit souvent qu’on a créé une entreprise de conciliation travail-famille. » nous explique Florence. « Il y a de la souplesse dans les horaires, on habite à distance de marche ou de vélo de l’atelier, on a mis toutes les chances de notre côté. »

Elle ajoute qu’un autre défi important est celui de faire la séparation entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle : « Quand on est un couple en affaires, c’est pas toujours facile ‘d’arrêter la machine’ et de parler d’autre chose ! »

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« La qualité de notre clientèle, sans aucune hésitation. C’est vraiment très réconfortant de constater à quel point le réseau de contacts de Ludovic, qu’il s’agisse de fournisseurs ou de clients, était au rendez-vous pour nous aider quand on a démarré. C’est une confiance qui va bien au-delà de l’entreprise, qui a un côté humain vraiment touchant. »

 

INSPIRATIONS

« Les grandes maisons parisiennes, par exemple DUCASSE Paris, créée par Alain Ducasse. La qualité des produits, le respect de la tradition et la créativité de cette maison qui conserve son authenticité artisanale sont d’une grande inspiration, pour nous. »

 

ASPIRATION

« Que notre entreprise devienne autonome, tout en conservant nos valeurs. Que l’équipe devienne synonyme de Chocolat Montréal, et non plus seulement Florence et Ludovic ! »

« Nous sommes également très admiratifs des entreprises qui se donnent des missions qui dépassent leurs objectifs d’affaires, par exemple celle de promouvoir les produits locaux. C’est ce à quoi nous aspirons. »

 

FAITS MARQUANTS

  • Chocolat Montréal est sélectionné pour faire partie du catalogue Code souvenir Montréal créé par Design Montréal, une initiative du Bureau du design visant à promouvoir la créativité montréalaise.

  • L’entreprise fait partie des lauréats de la Fondation Montréal inc. en 2018, obtenant une bourse et un accompagnement entrepreneurial.

  • Parution d’un article dans le magazine gastronomique Exquis.

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Contrairement à Ludovic qui semble ne jamais se sortir du chocolat (son plat préféré, c’est la mousse au chocolat !), Florence a le bec salé (et pas le bec sucré). Les contraires s’attirent, on dirait. Son plat préféré, c’est la salade César, la vraie, avec « tout le kit » : parmesan, anchois, croûtons…

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 2018

Site Web : chocolatmontreal.com

Facebook : facebook.com/atelierchocolatmontreal

Instagram : instagram.com/chocolatmontreal

HAUT