fbpx

BREAD AND CHEFS

by / Monday, 03 December 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

Benjamin et Adrien Bricaud

NAMES

Adrien et Benjamin Bricaud

 

COMPANY

Épicurien Boulangerie Artisanale (artisanal bakery)

 

PRODUCTS

A classic range of breads of all kinds, made by hand, containing no improvers or preservatives and using premium quality local flour. The dough is kneaded, shaped and baked by a team of passionate bakers (you have to be if you’re kneading about four tons of flour a week!). Products include baguettes, loaves (sliced fig and hazelnut, rye and whole wheat, multigrain, country-style), burger buns (vegan potato, brioche) and square breads (milk, multigrain, white).

 

BACKGROUND

Brothers Adrien and Benjamin Bricaud, who have lived in Quebec for 20 and 15 years respectively, first opened a small shop (the Pain d’Épi bakery) in 2012 in the Saint-Henri neighbourhood, at the corner of Saint-Antoine St. West and Greene Avenue. At the time, they already had in mind the idea of opening a business making artisanal bread for the restaurant market, but they had to start somewhere. The friendly landlord of the space they rented, anxious to bring life to the neighbourhood, insisted that they open a “boutique-café” with a storefront, in addition to baking artisanal breads.

This is where the two brothers began their business, offering baked goods, pastries, coffee, tea and a simple lunch menu on site, while at the same time delivering their breads to restaurants across Montreal, seven days a week. Over the years, the sustained growth of their business meant that they had to move their production to a larger facility. They are now located on Iberville Street in the Plateau Mont-Royal neighbourhood.

The Pain d’Épi bakery continues to operate successfully in the heart of Saint-Henri, but now represents only a fraction of all the activities of the Bricaud brothers, who are dedicated full-time to the restaurant market.

 

TRAINING

Benjamin is the one in charge of sales, and Adrien is the one in charge of the bakery and developing the recipes, though he now oversees the other bakers on the team. Adrien learned his “new” profession (with a background in law, art history and administration, he is proof that only fools don’t change their minds!) from experienced bakers who were delighted to share their knowledge and know-how.

 

INITIAL SPARK

Benjamin and Adrien Bricaud are from Ivry-la-Bataille, a village in Normandy, France. For history buffs, this village takes its name from a great battle fought by the future King Henry IV against the Catholics in 1590. The village has fewer than 3,000 souls, yet, when the Bricaud brothers were young, there were three bakeries! This shows how important bread is for the French. In fact, a study (fr.) revealed that 50% of them consider bread an essential food for a balanced diet.

Even as children, they dreamed of starting a business. So it is not surprising that after many academic and professional detours, they decided to open a bakery.

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

When you start an artisanal bakery, as opposed to an industrial one, the biggest challenge is ensuring consistency in the quality of the products,” Benjamin explains. “Everything is done by hand, so it’s crucial to train employees to understand that they must never depart from the production guidelines. Customers are demanding. While they expect the breads to look a little uneven sometimes, it is vital that the product be essentially the same.

 

NICE SURPRISES

The interest that restaurant chefs have in our products, and the loyalty of the chefs who often call us when they leave one establishment for another, because they know the quality of our products and our service.

 

INSPIRATION

The company’s customers, mostly chefs in the restaurant industry, are a real inspiration to Benjamin and Adrien, and it is these people who encouraged them to go after this market with greater gusto. These chefs appreciate being able to work with L’Épicurien’s local and high-quality products.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Benjamin and Adrien Bricaud dream of building their own production facility, based on their specifications and customized for them. But much more important than that, they want their company to continue growing at the same pace it is today, and for the atmosphere in their teams to remain equally pleasant at all levels.

 

HIGHLIGHT

The loyalty of their customers, which the Bricaud brothers are very grateful for.

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Benjamin begins by telling us his favourite dish is veal blanquette. However, when Adrien tells us that his favourite is his mother’s chicken and fries, Benjamin wants to change his mind. “It’s true that my mother’s chicken and fries is the best!” he exclaims.

 

“ENFANTS TERRIBLES” SINCE 2012

Website: boulangerielepicurien.com

Facebook: facebook.com/Pain-dÉpi

Instagram: instagram.com/boulangerie_paindepi

TOP

DU PAIN ET DES CHEFS

par / Lundi, 03 Décembre 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

Benjamin et Adrien Bricaud

NOMS

Adrien et Benjamin Bricaud

 

ENTREPRISE

Épicurien Boulangerie Artisanale

 

PRODUITS

Une gamme classique de pains de toutes sortes, fabriqués de façon artisanale et ne contenant aucun améliorant, aucun conservateur, et utilisant des farines locales de qualité. Ils sont pétris, façonnés et cuits par une équipe de boulangers passionnés (il faut l’être, pour pétrir environ 4 tonnes de farine par semaine !). Parmi les produits, on compte : les baguettes, les miches (figues et noisettes tranchées, seigle et blé entier, multigrains, campagnarde), les pains burgers (patate végane, brioché) et les carrés (lait, multigrains, blancs).

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

Les frères Adrien et Benjamin Bricaud, établis au Québec depuis respectivement 20 et 15 ans, ont d’abord ouvert en 2012 une petite boutique (la boulangerie Pain d’Épi) dans le quartier Saint-Henri, angle St-Antoine Ouest et Greene. À l’époque, ils avaient déjà derrière la tête l’idée de démarrer une entreprise de production artisanale de pains pour le marché de la restauration, mais il fallait bien commencer quelque part. Le sympathique propriétaire des locaux loués, soucieux de mettre « de la vie dans le quartier », avait insisté pour qu’ils y ouvrent une « boutique-café » ayant pignon sur rue, en plus de s’adonner à leur production de pains artisanaux.

C’est donc là que les deux frères ont débuté leur entreprise de boulangerie, offrant sur place produits de boulangerie, viennoiseries, cafés, thés et un menu simple pour les repas du midi, livrant en même temps leurs pains à des restaurants aux quatre coins de la Ville de Montréal, sept jours sur sept. Au fil des ans, la croissance soutenue de leurs activités a fait en sorte qu’ils ont dû déménager leurs installations de production ailleurs, dans plus grand. Ils logent désormais sur le Plateau Mont-Royal, rue Iberville.

La boulangerie Pain d’Épi continue d’opérer avec succès au cœur de Saint-Henri, mais ne représente désormais qu’une fraction de l’ensemble des activités des frères Bricaud, qui se consacrent à temps plein au marché de la restauration.

 

FORMATION

Benjamin, c’est celui qui s’occupe des ventes, et Adrien, celui qui s’occupe du fournil et élabore les recettes (même s’il chapeaute maintenant les autres boulangers qui font partie de l’équipe). Ce dernier a appris son « nouveau » métier (fort d’une formation en droit, en histoire de l’art et en administration, il est la preuve qu’il n’y a que les fous qui ne changent pas d’idée !) auprès de boulangers d’expérience qui étaient ravis de partager leur savoir et leur savoir-faire.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Benjamin et Adrien Bricaud sont originaires d’Ivry-la-Bataille, un village situé en Normandie (pour les passionnés d’histoire, ce village tient son nom d’une grande bataille livrée par le futur roi Henri IV aux Catholiques en 1590). Moins de 3000 habitants, et pourtant, quan dles frères Bricaud étaient petits, on y trouvait… trois boulangeries ! C’est dire l’importance du pain chez les Français. D’ailleurs, une étude a révélé que 50 % d’entre eux considèrent le pain comme étant « un aliment indispensable à l’équilibre alimentaire ».

Tout jeunes, déjà, ils rêvaient de lancer une entreprise. Il n’est donc pas étonnant qu’ils aient décidé — après de multiples détours académiques et professionnels — de se lancer en boulangerie.

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« Lorsqu’on se lance en boulangerie artisanale, et donc non industrielle, le plus grand défi est d’assurer une constance dans la qualité des produits. Tout est fait à la main, il est donc crucial de former les employés pour qu’ils saisissent qu’il ne faut pas déroger aux directives en matière de fabrication. Les clients sont exigeants. S’ils s’attendent à ce que les pains puissent parfois avoir une allure un soupçon inégale, il est essentiel que le produit soit dans son essence le même », explique Benjamin Bricaud.

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« L’intérêt suscité par nos produits auprès des chefs de restaurants, et la loyauté de ceux-ci qui, souvent, lorsqu’ils quittent un établissement pour un autre, nous rappellent, car ils connaissent la qualité de nos produits et de notre service. »

 

INSPIRATION

Les clients de l’entreprise — pour la plupart, des chefs en restauration — sont une véritable inspiration pour Benjamin et Adrien Bricaud, et ce sont eux qui les ont encouragés à poursuivre de plus belle dans ce marché. Ces chefs ont tout de suite apprécié pouvoir travailler avec les produits locaux et de qualité de l’Épicurien.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Benjamin et Adrien Bricaud rêvent de construire leurs propres installations de production, selon leurs spécifications et à leur mesure… Mais bien plus important que cela, ils souhaitent que leur entreprise continue de croître au rythme où elle le fait, et que l’ambiance qui règne au sein de leurs équipes demeure aussi agréable, à tous les échelons.

 

FAIT MARQUANT

La loyauté de leur clientèle, envers laquelle les frères Bricaud sont très reconnaissants.

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Benjamin commence par nous déclarer que son plat préféré, c’est la blanquette de veau. Sauf que lorsqu’Adrien nous dit que le sien, c’est le poulet-frites de sa mère, Benjamin a bien envie de se raviser. « C’est vrai qu’il est « top », le poulet-frites de ma mère ! », s’exclame-t-il.

 

ENFANTS TERRIBLES DEPUIS 2012

Site Web : boulangerielepicurien.com

Facebook : facebook.com/Pain-dÉpi

Instagram : instagram.com/boulangerie_paindepi

HAUT