In Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick

The church and the presbytery

CHEESE IN THE VILLAGE

by / Monday, 05 November 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

Jean Morin

NAME

Jean Morin, cheesemaker and dairy farmer

 

COMPANY

Fromagerie du Presbytère

 

PRODUCTS

Cheeses crafted with passion, including Bleu d’Élizabeth, Brie Paysan, Champayeur, Laliberté, Louis d’Or, Religieuse, Taliah and Pionnier.

 

BACKGROUND

There are actually two operations: the farm and the cheese dairy, which are now one company, to which the church was eventually and naturally attached.

As a child, Jean Morin would cross the only street in Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick, at his mother’s request, to take cakes to the village priest living at the presbytery. He lived just opposite the church, part of the fourth generation of the family that operated the Louis d’Or dairy farm.

In the early 1980s, he took over the farm with one of his brothers, and they decided to go organic. The Louis d’Or farm adheres to the highest agricultural standards, in their crops and in the way they care for the animals.

Since those days, the fifth generation (Jean’s daughter and three sons) has become involved, and when the presbytery was put up for sale, the family did not hesitate to embark on a brand new adventure that would end up literally transforming life in Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick.

Jean, a major cheese lover, had often been to France, exploring the country’s cheese dairies from east to west. “It was an old dream of mine to become a cheesemaker, which I was able to fulfill by buying the presbytery in 2009, in order to turn it into a cheese dairy,” he explains.

The dairy farm’s milk production is now entirely used for cheesemaking.

 

TRAINING

When he decided to become a cheesemaker, Jean enrolled in a training program at ENIL (French national school for the dairy industry) in the town of Poligny, Jura department.

 

INITIAL SPARK

It’s a love story between me and cheese… When the presbytery was put up for sale, it became possible to fulfill this dream I kept having. My children, who were already involved in running our dairy farm, were immediately won over by the idea!” the cheesemaker tells us.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

I have the privilege of nourishing people, so I have to make food that is the best it can be. It’s a challenge every day. Every morning I ask my team: What can we do to make our cheeses even better?

The most difficult thing, as an artisanal producer, is ensuring the greatest harmony in terms of cheese quality. It’s a constant technical challenge.

 

NICE SURPRISES

Definitely the award we won in the first year for Bleu d’Élizabeth!” Jean exclaims. “We were told we made the country’s best cheese, two years in a row at that!” Since then, Fromagerie du Presbytère has been winning awards year after year for many of the cheeses they turn out.

 

INSPIRATION

Continuing to make all cheese lovers happy.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Taking possession of a church is something that stirs many emotions. A church is a sacred place, a place you identify with. People celebrate life there, baptisms, weddings, funerals, joys and sorrows. When we decided to buy first the presbytery and then the church, we all thought this place should continue to be a shared place. Our Fridays in summer are proof of this!

And, of course, I want to ensure the longevity of the farm and the family business, for my children and their children.

 

HIGHLIGHTS

There are the prizes we won, of course. But if you come to the Fromagerie on a Friday afternoon in the summer, you will quickly see that what is most striking about this whole adventure is the life that has returned to the heart of the village. It’s the rallying effect it has had.

Vendredis de la Fromagerie du Presbytère

“Fridays at the Fromagerie”, an event that began spontaneously, brings together thousands of people every week from all around, neighbouring villages as well as Montreal, Quebec City (which are equidistant from Sainte-Élizabeth) and the Eastern Townships. They arrive with coolers, picnic tables and bottles of wine, and enjoy the Fromagerie’s fabulous cheese curds on site.

Normally, when everyone is here, the village has 381 inhabitants,” Jean explains (specifying that the “1” is the youngest of the fifth generation of the Louis d’Or Farm. “Fridays, beginning in June, this number multiplies tenfold! Visitors come – and come back – in the thousands. And they leave at sunset!

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Risotto (with cheese, obviously).

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 2015

A classic at Les Enfants Terribles:
Endive, Duck Confit and Bleu d’Élizabeth Salad,
Honeycrisp apple, pecans, jerusalem artichokes, pomegranate or strawberry
Salade d'endives, canard confit et Bleu d'Élizabeth Les Enfants Terribles

Bleu d’Élizabeth takes its name from the village where it’s made: Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick. Made from heat-treated milk, this is a semi-soft cheese with inner mould and a natural rind strewn with ochre spots and containing beautiful bluish and sometimes greenish veins, owing to the presence of penicillium roqueforti. Satisfies even the pickiest of palates!

Website: fromageriedupresbytere.com

Facebook: facebook.com/FromagerieDuPresbytere

Photos: © Fromagerie du Presbytère

TOP

À Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick

L'église et le presbytère

DES FROMAGES AU VILLAGE

par / Lundi, 05 Novembre 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

Jean Morin

NOM

Jean Morin, fromager et producteur laitier

 

ENTREPRISE

Fromagerie du Presbytère

 

PRODUITS

Des fromages fabriqués avec passion : Bleu d’Élizabeth, Brie paysan, Champayeur, Laliberté, Louis d’Or, Religieuse, Taliah, Pionnier.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

Il y a, en fait, deux entreprises : la ferme laitière et la fromagerie, qui n’en forment aujourd’hui plus qu’une (à laquelle s’est jointe tout naturellement l’église).

Tout petit, Jean Morin traversait la rue principale (la seule rue) de Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick pour aller porter des gâteaux au curé du village, au presbytère, à la demande de sa mère. C’est qu’il habitait en face, faisant partie de la quatrième génération de la famille qui exploitait une ferme laitière, la Ferme Louis d’Or.

Avec un de ses frères, ils ont repris la ferme, lui faisant faire, au début des années 80, un « virage bio ». La Ferme Louis d’Or respecte les plus hautes normes de l’agriculture biologique, autant dans ses champs que dans les soins apportés au troupeau.

Depuis, la cinquième génération s’est mise de la partie (les trois fils et la fille de M. Morin), et lorsque le presbytère a été mis en vente, la famille n’a pas hésité à se lancer dans une toute nouvelle aventure qui allait transformer la vie à Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick.

Jean Morin, grand amateur de fromages, était souvent allé en France, explorant les fabriques du pays, d’est en ouest. « C’était un vieux rêve, celui de devenir fromager, que j’ai finalement pu réaliser en achetant le presbytère en 2009 afin d’en faire une fromagerie », explique-t-il.

Désormais, la production de la ferme laitière est entièrement destinée à la fromagerie.

 

FORMATION

Lorsqu’il a décidé qu’il deviendrait fromager, Jean Morin a suivi une formation aux ENIL (Écoles nationales d’industrie laitière, des biotechnologies et de l’eau) à Poligny, dans le Jura français.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

« C’est une histoire d’amour entre moi et les fromages… La mise en vente du presbytère a rendu possible ce rêve qui ne me quittait pas, et mes enfants, déjà tous impliqués dans l’exploitation de notre ferme laitière, ont tout de suite été séduits par cette idée ! », explique le fromager.

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« J’ai le privilège de nourrir des humains, il faut donc que je fasse une nourriture qui soit la meilleure possible… C’est un défi de tous les jours. Tous les matins, je demande à mon équipe : “Qu’est-ce qu’on peut faire pour que nos fromages soient encore meilleurs ?” »

« Le plus difficile, c’est d’assurer, dans un contexte de fabrication en mode artisanal, la plus grande harmonie en matière de qualité de fromage. C’est un défi technique de tous les instants. »

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« Certainement le prix que nous avons remporté, la première année, pour le Bleu d’Élizabeth ! », s’exclame Jean Morin. « On nous a dit que nous faisions le meilleur fromage du pays, et deux années de suite, à part de ça ! » La Fromagerie ne cesse depuis de remporter des prix, chaque année, pour plusieurs des fromages façonnés au Presbytère.

 

INSPIRATION

Continuer à donner du bonheur à tous les amateurs de fromage.

 

ASPIRATIONS

« Prendre possession d’une église, c’est quelque chose qui suscite beaucoup d’émotions. L’église, c’est un lieu sacré, un lieu d’identification. On y célèbre la vie, les baptêmes, les mariages, les départs, les joies, les peines. En décidant d’acheter d’abord le presbytère et ensuite l’église, on s’est tous dit que ce lieu continuerait d’être un lieu partagé. Nos vendredis d’été en témoignent ! »

« Et bien sûr, assurer la pérennité de la ferme et de l’entreprise familiale, pour mes enfants et leurs enfants. »

 

FAITS MARQUANTS

« Il y a les prix remportés, bien entendu. Mais si vous venez à la fromagerie les vendredis après-midi, en été, vous allez vite comprendre que ce qui est le plus marquant, dans toute cette aventure, c’est la vie qui a repris au beau milieu du village, c’est son effet rassembleur. »

Vendredis de la Fromagerie du Presbytère

Les « vendredis à la fromagerie » — un événement né tout à fait spontanément — réunissent chaque semaine des milliers de personnes venant de partout autour, aussi bien des villages voisins que de Montréal ou Québec (qui sont à égale distance de Sainte-Élizabeth) ou des Cantons-de-l’Est. On y arrive avec glacières, tables à pique-nique, bouteilles de vin, et on déguste sur place le fabuleux fromage en grains de la Fromagerie du Presbytère.

« Normalement, quand tout le monde est là, on compte 381 habitants au village, » explique Jean Morin (précisant que le « 1 », c’est le petit dernier de la cinquième génération de la Ferme Louis d’Or. « Les vendredis, à partir du mois de juin, ça se décuple ! Les visiteurs viennent — et reviennent — par milliers. Et ils repartent au coucher du soleil ! »

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Le risotto (au fromage, évidemment).

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 2015

Un classique au menu Les Enfants Terribles :
La salade d’endives, canard confit et Bleu d’Élizabeth,
pomme Honeycrisp, pacanes, topinambours, grenade ou framboises
Salade d'endives, canard confit et Bleu d'Élizabeth Les Enfants Terribles

Le Bleu d’Élizabeth porte son nom pour souligner son lieu de fabrication : Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick. Fromage de lait thermisé, sa pâte demi-ferme à moisissures internes est couverte d’une croûte naturelle parsemée de taches ocre qui renferme de belles veines bleuâtres, parfois même verdâtres, dues à la présence de pénicillium roqueforti. Plaît aux palais les plus capricieux !

Site Web : fromageriedupresbytere.com

Facebook : facebook.com/FromagerieDuPresbytere

Images : Gracieuseté de Fromagerie du Presbytère

HAUT