fbpx

GASPOR FARM

The farm

LOCAL SUCKLING PIG WITH GLOBAL FAME

by / Monday, 07 January 2019 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

NAMES

Alexandre Aubin, Nicolas Aubin and Bernard Giguère, co-owners

 

COMPANY

Gaspor, a family farm

 

PRODUCT

A suckling pig exclusively fed on milk, with no antibiotics or growth hormones, under conditions that respect the animal

 

BACKGROUND

Famille Aubin ferme Gaspor

There was a time when the members of the Aubin family were conventional pig farmers. Since breeding piglets became increasingly important in the farm’s activities, the “young ones” Alex and Nicolas decided to devote themselves to it. Today, they are co-owners of the Gaspor farm with Bernard Giguère, and they raise only piglets in the Lower Laurentians. Their parents, Céline Brosseau and Marc Aubin, still work on the farm, along with 17 other employees who make this company a success that is spreading across Canada, the United States, the Caribbean and Japan, where prestigious restaurants, hotels, specialty chains and fine butcher shops share these exceptional products.

Treated with special care
The Gaspor Farm takes every possible care in raising their piglets. The milk recipe that these little pigs are fed is fully balanced and has all the elements required for their growth, ensuring that the meat has a unique tenderness, flavour and taste. The piglets are also treated with special care. The well-being of each animal is ensured at every stage of production, earning the farm a Canadian Quality Assurance (CQA®) accreditation, which recognizes food safety and respectful methods for raising pigs.

From Saskatchewan to the Gaspé (then to the Lower Laurentians…)
For the record, it all started during World War II, on the other side of the country. Young Norbert Aubin, son of a Saskatchewan farmer, did not escape conscription and went to Montreal to prepare for his imminent departure for Europe to fight with the Canadian army. However, Germany surrendered on May 7, 1945. Norbert then decided to go to the Gaspé region, where he met his wife Raymonde in Bonaventure. He then settled down near Montreal, bringing a part of the Gaspé (his wife) back with him. His son Marc, seeking to revive the Aubin family tradition of farming, enrolled in agronomy in Saint-Hyacinthe, with a view to raising and producing pigs. At the same time, a certain Céline Brosseau enrolled in horticulture. Her father had founded a chicken rotisserie that rivalled St-Hubert rotisseries at the time. They got married and honeymooned in Spain. AND THAT IS WHEN LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT HAPPENED BETWEEN THE AUBIN FAMILY AND WHAT THEY CALL “CULINARY CULTURE!” “In Quebec, we were used to mass production in the pork industry… My parents discovered that there could be a genuine link between producer and consumer, that production could be done on a small scale, and that this was immediately reflected in the flavour of the product,” says Alex Aubin. Marc Aubin and Céline Brosseau went on to build a farm in the Lower Laurentians, where they raised pigs in the traditional way for several years, until they could devote themselves to their passion, suckling pigs, 90% of which were destined for restaurants.

And the rest is history, as they say.

 

TRAINING

Nicolas has a bachelor’s degree in administration from Université Laval. Alex has a technical diploma in farm management and operation from Cégep de Joliette.

 

INITIAL SPARK

Having been raised on the farm, Alex and Nicolas don’t have to look far to find the initial spark in their adventure with piglets. “We had the fortune to grow up surrounded by love, from our parents and the workers who are now part of the family. We were also surrounded by animals. It’s a dream life that Nico and I have tried to reproduce. It’s simple!”

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

Cutting, marketing and distribution are entirely done by Gaspor. This makes it possible to offer customers numerous cuts adapted to their needs while ensuring consistent product quality. But there is also a very big challenge that the farmers face: making sure all the parts of the piglets are sold, not just the rear end!

 

NICE SURPRISES

The warm welcome of restaurant chefs, which has helped the company grow and succeed.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Alex Aubin is very happy. He says he is totally satisfied with his life and the way things are going at the Gaspor Farm. His aspiration? To keep it that way! It must be said that the Gaspor suckling pig is remarkable. It has a much more generous marbling than other pork products. Its fat is whiter and firmer. After cooking, it retains a creamier appearance and a lovely consistency in the mouth. Its fat is similar to duck fat and olive oil in terms of oleic acid, omega-3 and omega-6 compounds. And how about its thin skin: so crispy, colourful and tasty!

 

HIGHLIGHT

The speed at which Gaspor suckling pigs have made their way to the gourmet public, first in Quebec and then beyond! “A special thank you to Simon at Les Entants Terribles, whose advice and co-operation have been instrumental in our success,” Alex says gratefully.

 

FAVOURITE DISH

One brother (Alex) loves eating octopus. On the other hand, the second brother (Nicolas) likes lobster. Their Gaspé origins are clearly visible, despite the world of pork they live in! However, the third co-owner, Bernard, prefers pepper steak.

 

ENFANTS TERRIBLES SINCE 2018

Website: gaspor.com

Facebook: facebook.com/fermesgaspor

TOP

FERME GASPOR

La ferme

UN PORCELET LOCAL
DE RENOMMÉE INTERNATIONALE

par / Lundi, 07 Janvier 2019 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

NOMS

Alexandre et Nicolas Aubin, Bernard Giguère, copropriétaires

 

ENTREPRISE

Gaspor, ferme familiale

 

PRODUIT

Un porcelet exclusivement nourri au lait, sans antibiotiques ni hormones de croissance, dans des conditions respectueuses de l’animal.

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

Famille Aubin ferme Gaspor

Il fut un temps où les membres de la famille Aubin étaient éleveurs de porc conventionnels. L’élevage du porcelet occupant une place de plus en plus importante dans les activités de la ferme, les « jeunes », Alex et Nicolas, ont décidé de s’y consacrer. Aujourd’hui, ils sont copropriétaires de la ferme Gaspor avec Bernard Giguère, et ne se consacrent qu’à l’élevage de porcelet, dans les Basses-Laurentides. Leurs parents, Céline Brosseau et Marc Aubin, mettent encore l’épaule à la roue, de même que 17 autres employés qui font de cette entreprise un succès qui se déploie au Canada, aux États-Unis, dans les Caraïbes et au Japon, où les plus grands restaurants, hôtels, chaînes spécialisées et boucheries fines partagent ces produits d’exception.

Traités aux petits oignons
Chez Gaspor, tout le soin possible est apporté à l’élevage. La recette du lait dont ces petits cochons sont nourris exclusivement est équilibrée et possède tous les éléments indispensables à leur croissance, assurant à la viande une tendreté, une saveur et un goût uniques. Le bien-être de chaque animal est assuré à chaque étape de la production, ce qui leur a valu l’accréditation Assurance qualité canadienne (AQCMD), qui témoigne de la salubrité des aliments et des méthodes d’élevage respectueuses du porcelet.

De la Saskatchewan à la Gaspésie (puis aux Basses-Laurentides…)
Mais pour la petite histoire, tout a commencé au moment de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, à l’autre bout du pays. Le jeune Norbert Aubin, fils d’un fermier de la Saskatchewan, n’avait pas échappé à la conscription et s’était rendu à Montréal en vue de son départ imminent vers l’Europe, pour combattre auprès de l’armée canadienne. Sauf que l’Allemagne a capitulé, le 7 mai 1945. Il a alors choisi de se rendre en Gaspésie où il a connu sa femme Raymonde, à Bonaventure. Ramenant une partie de la Gaspésie avec lui (sa femme), Norbert s’est ensuite établi près de Montréal. Son fils Marc, voulant renouer avec la tradition familiale Aubin de l’agriculture, s’est inscrit en agronomie à Saint-Hyacinthe (en vue de faire de l’élevage et de la production de cochons), en même temps qu’une certaine Céline Brosseau s’inscrivait en horticulture… et dont le père avait fondé une rôtisserie de poulet qui rivalisait à l’époque avec les rôtisseries St-Hubert. Ils se sont mariés et sont partis en voyage de noces en Espagne. Et c’est là que le coup de foudre s’est produit entre la famille Aubin et ce qu’ils appellent « la culture culinaire » ! « Au Québec, on était habitués à une production de masse dans le domaine du porc… Mes parents ont découvert qu’il pouvait exister un lien réel entre le producteur et le consommateur, qu’une production pouvait se faire à petite échelle, et que cela se reflétait immédiatement dans la saveur du produit », raconte Alex Aubin. Marc Aubin et Céline Brosseau ont donc construit une ferme dans les Basses-Laurentides, fait de l’élevage traditionnel de porcs pendant plusieurs années jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient en mesure de s’adonner à leur passion, le porcelet de lait, destiné à 90 % à la restauration.

And the rest is history, comme on dit en bon français.

 

FORMATION

Nicolas a un baccalauréat en administration de l’Université Laval, Alex a une technique en gestion/exploitation d’entreprises agricoles du Cégep de Joliette.

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

Élevés sur la ferme, Alex et Nicolas Aubin n’ont pas à chercher loin quelle a été l’étincelle de départ de leur aventure avec le porcelet. « Nous avons eu la chance de grandir entourés d’amour, de nos parents et de travailleurs qui aujourd’hui font partie de la famille, entourés d’animaux, aussi. C’est une vie de rêve que Nico et moi avons tenté de reproduire, c’est simple ! ».

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

La découpe, la mise en marché et la distribution sont entièrement réalisées par Gaspor. Cela permet d’offrir aux clients plusieurs coupes adaptées à leurs besoins tout en assurant la constance de la qualité des produits. Mais là réside aussi un très grand défi auquel doivent faire face les éleveurs : celui de faire en sorte que tous les morceaux des porcelets soient vendus, pas seulement les fesses !

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

L’accueil des chefs de restaurants, qui a permis l’essor et le succès de l’entreprise.

 

ASPIRATIONS

Alex Aubin est très heureux. Il se dit tout à fait satisfait de sa vie et de la façon dont se déroulent les choses, à la ferme Gaspor. Son aspiration ? Que ça continue ainsi ! Il faut dire que le porcelet de lait Gaspor est remarquable. Il possède un persillage beaucoup plus généreux que les autres produits porcins. Son gras est plus blanc et plus ferme. Après la cuisson, il conserve un aspect plus crémeux et garde une belle consistance en bouche. Son « gras » offre les mêmes similarités que le gras de canard et l’huile d’olive du point de vue des composés en acide oléique, en oméga-3 et en oméga-6. Et que dire de sa mince peau, tellement croustillante, colorée et si savoureuse !

 

FAIT MARQUANT

La rapidité avec laquelle le porcelet de lait Gaspor a fait son chemin auprès du public gourmand, d’abord au Québec et par la suite au-delà des frontières ! « Un merci tout particulier à Simon, chez Les Entants Terribles, dont les conseils et la collaboration ont été instrumentaires dans notre envol », tient à souligner Alex Aubin, reconnaissant.

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Alex adore manger de la pieuvre, Nicolas, quant à lui, aime le homard. Décidément, leurs origines gaspésiennes transparaissent, malgré l’univers « porcin » dans lequel ils évoluent ! Mais le troisième copropriétaire, Bernard, préfère le steak au poivre.

 

ENFANTS TERRIBLES DEPUIS 2018

Site Web : gaspor.com

Facebook : facebook.com/fermesgaspor

HAUT