LES MARCHANDS DUFRAIS

Porcini mushrooms

Hedgehog mushrooms

Horn of Plenty mushrooms

FOREST TO TABLE

by / Tuesday, 04 September 2018 / Published in FANZINE, OUR LOCAL PRODUCERS

Maryse Larose

NAME

Maryse Larose, co-owner with François Ménard

 

COMPANY

Les Marchands DuFrais, based in Granby

 

PRODUCTS

Les Marchands DuFrais are distributors of fresh mushrooms in season, and dehydrated or frozen mushrooms throughout the year.

Fresh mushrooms are supplied by pickers located mainly in the Eastern Townships, New Brunswick, Saskatchewan and British Columbia. They account for 90% of the products distributed.

They also offer products derived from truffles and sell a line of fresh or frozen berries, supplemented year after year depending on what “their” pickers (who are independent suppliers) offer them. One week it’s blueberries, the next week it’s blackcurrants, or elderberries, and so on.

Their customers includes hotels, restaurants and caterers, along with a few gourmet grocers. The niche products from Les Marchands DuFrais are not found in supermarkets, as they are distributed to an exclusive clientele of fine connoisseurs (including Les Enfants Terribles!).

 

BACKGROUND

A happy mistake!

Entrepreneur couple Maryse and François had already been working for years in the wholesale distribution of perishable goods, in this case floristry, including evergreen branches used in Holiday decorations.

It was a mistake on the part of one of their suppliers which brought to their attention the existence of the niche market of mushroom distribution. This supplier had contacted them to offer his freshly picked mushrooms, piquing their curiosity and prompting them to ask questions on the topic. This picker directed them to Les Marchands DuFrais, a small business located in Montreal. Maryse and her husband bought the company in 2006, relocating it to Granby, where it is now based.

From 2006 to 2014, they ran both companies simultaneously. François focussed entirely on mushroom distribution, while Maryse devoted herself to the florist business, which they decided to sell in 2014. It is now she alone who directs Les Marchands DuFrais, with an expert hand and above all, with passion!

 

TRAINING

After undergoing training, both Maryse and her husband obtained certification as forest mushroom pickers. “It’s very important to know the products well,” explains Maryse. “We never buy mushrooms from people who are not in the business, who have not made their living picking mushrooms. It’s too easy to confuse a toxic mushroom with an edible mushroom. We don’t want to take risks.

 

INITIAL SPARK

What convinced me to devote myself full-time to this business is the extraordinary quality of the relationships I have with the chefs. It’s so nice to spend time with them. It makes me love my job a little more every day. They are understanding, interested and enthusiastic. I can’t imagine doing business with a better clientele.

 

BIGGEST CHALLENGES

The biggest challenge is getting adopted by customers, getting them to trust us and our products. When I took over Les Marchands DuFrais, I was afraid because I didn’t know anyone. I am very proud of what I have accomplished because four years later, I have managed to build excellent relationships with all our customers and pickers. I totally feel like I fit in. Customers recognize the quality of our products and trust us. That is precious.

 

NICE SURPRISES

The kindness of the chefs we do business with. What a nice surprise!

The relationships with my suppliers/pickers, our mutual trust. And their great loyalty and fidelity! Since 2006, only one of them has ceased operating (he became a gold prospector!). They are all passionate people who are very serious and professional. In our industry, quality of the supply is paramount. It’s the heart of the matter.

 

INSPIRATIONS

What I like most is when a chef makes a special request for a particular product I’m unfamiliar with. I was once asked if I had cattail hearts, for example. I had never heard of that before, so I started researching and finally found some! Our niche is really products that are not common. I love searching for beautiful discoveries.

 

ASPIRATIONS

For the name ‘Les Marchands DuFrais’ to be increasingly recognized. The greatest compliment I can receive is when a chef says, “Yes, yes, I know your name. I know that your mushrooms are wonderful!

And that one day, one of my daughters takes over. What a great transfer of a business that would be!

 

HIGHLIGHT

My husband left the company in 2014, and I found myself running it alone. That was quite a challenge. And it continues to be a challenge every day. Mission accomplished: I now go into the office every morning with great pleasure!

 

FAVOURITE DISH

Any dish that combines scallops and… mushrooms! — Obviously 😉

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE SINCE 2014

Les Marchands DuFrais
89 Rue de Gatineau, Granby, QC J2J 0P1
450 777 1051

TOP

LES MARCHANDS DUFRAIS

Cèpes d'Amérique

Pieds-de-mouton

Trompettes des morts

DE LA FORÊT À L’ASSIETTE

par / Mardi, 04 Septembre 2018 / Publié dans FANZINE, NOS PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX

Maryse Larose

NOM

Maryse Larose, copropriétaire avec François Ménard

 

ENTREPRISE

Les Marchands DuFrais, à Granby

 

PRODUITS

Les Marchands DuFrais sont distributeurs de champignons frais en saison, et déshydratés ou surgelés toute l’année.

Les champignons frais sont fournis par des cueilleurs qui se trouvent principalement en Estrie, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Saskatchewan et en Colombie-Britannique ; ils représentent 90 % des produits distribués.

Ils offrent aussi des produits dérivés de la truffe et tiennent une ligne de petits fruits frais ou surgelés, enrichie d’année en année selon ce que « leurs » cueilleurs (qui sont des fournisseurs indépendants) leur proposent. Une semaine, c’est le bleuet, la semaine suivante, le cassis, le sureau, etc.

Leur clientèle est constituée d’hôtels, de restaurants et de traiteurs, ainsi que de quelques rares épiceries fines. Les produits de niche des Marchands DuFrais ne se trouvent pas en grande surface, étant distribués auprès d’une clientèle exclusive de fins connaisseurs (dont Les Enfants Terribles !).

 

FONDATION DE L’ENTREPRISE

Une heureuse erreur !

Le couple d’entrepreneurs que forment Maryse et François œuvrait déjà depuis plusieurs années dans le domaine de la distribution en gros de biens périssables, soit celui de la fleuristerie, dont le « sapinage » utilisé dans les décorations du temps des Fêtes.

C’est une erreur de l’un des fournisseurs qui a leur mis la puce à l’oreille quant à l’existence de ce secteur de niche qu’est la distribution de champignons. Ce fournisseur avait communiqué avec eux pour leur offrir le fruit de sa cueillette de champignons frais, suscitant leur curiosité et les amenant à lui poser des questions à ce sujet. Ce cueilleur les a dirigés vers Les Marchands DuFrais, une petite entreprise située à Montréal. Maryse et son mari ont acheté l’entreprise en 2006, la transportant à Granby où elle a désormais pignon sur rue.

De 2006 à 2014, ils menaient les deux entreprises de front : François s’occupait seul de la distribution de champignons, Maryse se consacrant à l’entreprise de fleuristerie qu’ils ont décidé de vendre en 2014. C’est désormais elle seule qui dirige Les Marchands DuFrais, de main de maître et surtout, avec passion !

 

FORMATION

Maryse et son mari ont tous deux obtenu la certification de « cueilleur certifié de champignons forestiers », après avoir suivi une formation. « C’est très important, explique Maryse, de bien connaître les produits. Nous n’achetons jamais de champignons de gens qui ne sont pas du métier, qui n’ont pas fait de la cueillette de champignons leur gagne-pain. Il est trop facile de confondre un champignon toxique avec un champignon comestible, on ne veut pas prendre de risque ».

 

ÉTINCELLE DE DÉPART

« Ce qui m’a convaincue de me consacrer à temps plein à cette activité commerciale, c’est la qualité extraordinaire des relations que j’entretiens avec les chefs. C’est tellement agréable de les côtoyer, ça me fait aimer mon métier tous les jours un peu plus. Ils sont compréhensifs, intéressés, enthousiastes, je ne peux imaginer faire affaire avec une meilleure clientèle ».

 

LES PLUS GRANDS DÉFIS

« Le plus grand défi, c’est de se faire adopter par les clients, qu’ils aient confiance en nous et en nos produits. Lorsque j’ai pris la relève de Marchand DuFrais, j’étais craintive, car je ne connaissais personne. Je suis très fière de ce que j’ai accompli parce que quatre ans plus tard, j’ai réussi à établir d’excellents rapports avec tous nos clients et cueilleurs, je me sens tout à fait à ma place. Les clients reconnaissent la qualité de nos produits et nous font confiance, c’est précieux ».

 

LES PLUS BELLES SURPRISES

« La gentillesse des chefs avec qui on fait affaire. Quelle belle surprise ! »

« Les relations avec mes fournisseurs-cueilleurs, notre confiance mutuelle. Et leur grande loyauté et fidélité ! Depuis 2006, un seul d’entre eux a cessé ses opérations (il est devenu chercheur d’or !). Ce sont tous des passionnés qui sont hyper sérieux et professionnels. Dans notre secteur d’activités, la qualité de l’approvisionnement est primordiale, c’est le nerf de la guerre ».

 

INSPIRATIONS

« Ce que j’aime le plus, c’est quand un chef me fait une demande spéciale pour un produit en particulier que je ne connais pas. On m’a demandé un jour si j’avais des « cœurs de quenouilles », par exemple. Je n’en avais jamais entendu parler, alors je me suis lancée dans une recherche et j’ai fini par en trouver ! Notre niche, c’est réellement les produits qui ne sont pas communs. J’adore partir à la recherche de belles découvertes ».

 

ASPIRATION

« Que le nom « Les Marchands DuFrais » soit de plus en plus reconnu. Le plus grand compliment qu’on puisse me faire, c’est quand un chef me dit « Oui oui, je vous connais de nom, je sais que vos champignons sont magnifiques ! ».

« Et qu’un jour, l’une de me filles prenne la relève, quel beau transfert d’entreprise ce serait ! »

 

FAIT MARQUANT

« Mon mari a quitté l’entreprise en 2014, et je me suis retrouvée seule pour la diriger. C’était tout un défi ! Et ça continue d’être un défi de tous les jours. Mission accomplie : j’entre au bureau tous les matins avec un immense plaisir ! »

 

PLAT PRÉFÉRÉ

Tout plat qui combine pétoncles et… champignons ! — Évidemment… 😉

 

ENFANT TERRIBLE DEPUIS 2014

 

Les Marchands DuFrais
89 rue de Gatineau, Granby, QC J2J 0P1
450 777 1051

HAUT